A large multi-format collection of bluegrass and early country music. This collection consists of approximately 25,000 sound recordings, which include many local artists and recordings of live performances at concerts and festivals. Also included are song books, sheet music, posters, photographs, and memorabilia.
The Lawrence M. Palmer Collection contains over 16,500 items including textual materials, sound recordings, moving images, photographs and graphic prints, reference materials, and memorabilia related to bluegrass, country, and traditional music dating from 1903 and 2010. The extensive memorabilia collection includes posters, artist autographs, festival flyers, musical programs, and performance schedules. The predominant dates of the collection are from 1960 -2010.
This comprehensive collection of bluegrass and country music recordings includes 17,000 long-playing records, hundreds of compact discs, video recordings, and related books.
Contains a number of audio and videotapes of American and Scottish artists performing English and Scottish ballads, and playing such instruments as the dulcimer, banjo and Jew's harp. Among the artists represented are Margaret Bennett, Frank Profitt, Jr., Orville Hicks and Emily Lyle.
Includes taped copies and original disc recordings of such artists as Jim Garland, Sara Garland (Sara Ogan Gunning), Huddie Ledbetter (Lead Belly), the Osborne Family, Aunt Molly Jackson, Sonny Terry and Brownie McGee, and the Ritchie Sisters. The recordings were made by folklorist Mary Barnicle and her husband Tillman Cadle between 1936 and 1951.
Included in the collection are audio and videotapes which document the following types of music: old-time, country, blues, bluegrass, white gospel and revival. Performers recorded include Ralph Mayo, Friday Brothers, Bailes Brothers, Old Joe Clark, Dixie Dewdrops, Victory Quartet, Charlie Bowman, Carter Family, Claude Grant, Uncle Dave Macon, Roan Mountain Hilltoppers, and G.B. Grayson. Festivals recorded include: ETSU Homefolks, Ferrum Blues and the Old Time Country Radio Reunion. The collection also contains written documentation on the history of country music and on the Old Time Country Radio Reunion, and photographs of country music performers.
Contains various types of materials on folk music. Included are dub sheets and transcripts of interviews with individuals who sang folk songs. Also contains a songbook written by Delmar Herington of Bristol, Tennessee; and songs sung by Hattie Presnell and Stanley Hicks on cassette audiotape.
Includes taped (audio and video) musical performances of local persons from East Tennessee and western North Carolina, as well as such noted performers as Arlie Watson, Doc Watson, Tom Ashley, Horton Barker, the Carter Family, and the Toe River Valley Boys. Types of music played include: ballads (Child and Laws), shape note, bluegrass and old-time. Written documentation includes dub sheets, correspondence on ballads, and clippings on ballads.
The Bernard Rousseau Collection contains 187 open reel audiotapes of performances at fiddlers conventions, bluegrass festivals, music clubs, and studio sessions, 1957-84; as well as radio broadcasts of bluegrass and country music, 1983-88. The collection also contains two manuscript boxes of printed materials, which focus on the conventions and festivals. Included in the two boxes are tape logs, performer lists, publicity photos, along with convention and festival programs.
Delaware Valley Bluegrass Festival Recordings
This collection consists of over 800 hours of analog and born digital audio captured at the Delaware Valley Bluegrass Festival beginning in 1972. The extent of the coverage varies by year with as little as one hour of audio to as many as 28 hours. There is no audio from 1975 or 2013.
Grayson County Old-Time Fiddler's Convention Collection
The collection consists of print and audio material pertaining to the Grayson County Old Time and Bluegrass Fiddlers Convention in Virginia.
The print material includes ten programs from Grayson County Fiddlers Conventions, 1968-2017; three programs from other Virginia conventions; and three 13x19 reprints of festival photographs. The audio consists of thirty-three (33) reels of audiotape recorded by Convention co-founder Wilton Dolinger as well as two copies of a 45-rpm recording of "Ballad of Sheriff Billy Joe" and "Sheriff Billy Joe" featuring Gene Price (campaign to re-elect Sheriff Billy Joe Dolinger).
Jubilee Community Arts Records
Recordings and documents of music/cultural events put on by Jubilee Community Arts. Most events took place at the Laurel Theater in Knoxville, Tennessee and were recorded live. Shows and series include the Jubilee Festival, Mountain Jubilee, Live at Laurel and interviews with musicians and community members. Documents include tax returns, financial statements, and Mountain Jubilee playlists, circa 2001-2013.
William L. and Gowan Merson Smith
Consists of 83 audio recordings of William and Gowan Smith playing fiddle, organ, and piano, 1957-76. The Smiths had a life-long interest in Scottish fiddle music. The collection includes recording of live and commercial performances.
Contains seven 30-minute audio cassettes of interviews conducted by Rachel Ann Goodman with women instrumental in the early development of country and old-time music. Musicians represented include Etta Baker, Ramona Jones, the Powers Family, Jean Ritchie, the Carter Family, Martha Carson, Matokie Slaughter, Patsy Montana, Ola Belle Reed, Wilma Lee Cooper and Hazel Dickens.
Jack Tottle Bluegrass and Old-Time Music
Included are 61 reel to reel audiotapes (dubbed onto audio cassettes) of bluegrass, old-time, and blues music tapes from live and recorded performances, 1940-76. Artists represented include the Poplin Family, Flatt and Scruggs, Uncle Dave Macon, Etta Baker, Lonesome River Boys, Stanley Brothers, Kentucky Colonels, Bill Monroe, Hylo Brown and Don Reno.
Consists of audio recordings of Duncan Williamson and other musicians and storytellers at ceilidhs and community gatherings in Scotland. Included are traditional songs and Jack tales.
Included in the collection are audio and videotapes which document the following types of music: old-time, country, blues, bluegrass, white gospel and revival. Performers recorded include Ralph Mayo, Friday Brothers, Bailes Brothers, Old Joe Clark, Dixie Dewdrops, Victory Quartet, Charlie Bowman, Carter Family, Claude Grant, Uncle Dave Macon, Roan Mountain Hilltoppers, and G.B. Grayson. Festivals recorded include: ETSU Homefolks, Ferrum Blues and the Old Time Country Radio Reunion. The collection also contains written documentation on the history of country music and on the Old Time Country Radio Reunion, and photographs of country music performers.
This collection includes a number of 3/4" video cassettes of musical performances. Performers include the Morris Brothers, Taylor and Stella Kimble, the Fiddlin' Powers Family, Ralph Stanley, Tommy Jarrell, Johnny Cash, and Malcolm Johnson. Types of music represented include: old-time, bluegrass, ballads and mountain blues guitar. The Broadside collection also contains videos on WZAP, a country-music radio station, and on making musical instruments.
Includes 43 video recordings of the regionally popular television program Jim Walter Home Jubilee, starring Bonnie Lou and Buster Moore. The program featured musical performances by the regular cast and guests, such as Scotty Stoneman. Also included are program audiotapes, production notebooks, and publicity photographs.
Consists of 142 audiotapes of the Glenn Roberts Radio Program, the Shriners bluegrass festival (Wise, Va.), home-jamming bluegrass sessions. Tapes date from the 1960s-1980s.
This collection relates to fiddler Benny Sims who played fiddle for Flatt and Scruggs, as well as for the Bonnie Lou and Buster Moore Show, WJHL-Television, Johnson City, Tennessee. It consists of recordings, songbooks, photographs, awards, and other materials.
Contained in this collection are seven reel to reel audio tapes, dubbed from transcription disks, of 1947-49 WCYB radio programs. Programs include "Farm and Fun Time," and "Thrift Supply Company." Artists represented include Curly King and the Tennessee Hilltoppers (Don Campbell, Leslie Keith, Shorty Morris), Roy Russell and Roy Webb.
Includes reel to reel audiotapes of different types of country music. Old-time, bluegrass, folk, and revival are among the types of music represented in the collection. Artists represented include Ed Snodderly, the Corklickers, the Dixie Dewdrops, Friday Brothers, Hotmud Family, Bluegrass Ramblers, Whitetop Mountain Band, Guy Carawan, Keith Miles, John McCutcheon, Red Rector, Roan Mountain Hilltoppers, Bill Clifton, Foggy Bottom String Band, Nanci Griffith, and Mountain Memories.
