Skip to Main Content

Workshops

Graduate Workshops

Sherrod Library offers Graduate Workshops on a variety of topics, from time and project management, to academic topic creation, resource searching, and literature review.

All Graduate Workshops are available via Zoom and may be requested by ETSU faculty or proposed to faculty by students. For more information, please contact Dr. Wendy Doucette.

Sherrod Library / GPSA Workshops

Select Fridays in September and October from noon-1:00pm on Zoom.

Time and Project Management
Friday, September 30, 2022
12:00pm - 1:00pm
Registration is required for this event.
Using principles from knowledge management and psychology, you can construct your project framework efficiently at any stage. We will discuss work-life balance; time management; effective e-mail; PC file structure and versioning; physical and virtual storage and backups; bookmark management; and feeds and alerts for specific searches and journals. If you're a disorganized mess, this workshop is for you!

The Academic Research Process
Friday, October 7, 2022
12:00pm - 1:00pm
Registration is required for this event.
Especially for new graduate students, this presentation gives a high-level overview of the scholarly research process and the different types of academic papers. Topics discussed: membership in the academic community; scholarly dialogue; scholarly publishing opportunities; ownership, copyright, and plagiarism; explanation of the main parts of research papers, including literature review.

Academic Searching
Friday, October 14, 2022
12:00pm - 1:00pm
Registration is required for this event.
This introductory overview covers the broad strokes of academic searching. We'll discuss different types of searches with different objectives; non-electronic venues (books, periodicals and archives); the most efficient methods for searching the databases at ETSU; navigating the library catalog, theses and dissertations; saving articles and searches; setting up feeds and alerts; creating folders; and exporting articles.

Graduate Boot Camp Workshops

Boot Camp is offered both in-person and online and is free to all ETSU students, faculty, and staff.

Workshops offered for Fall 2022:

Choosing the Topic
Researching the Topic
Literature Review

Registration is required. For more information, and to register, visit the Boot Camp website.

Library 101 Workshops

Open to all ETSU students, faculty, and staff, workshops in this series are offered on select Wednesdays in September and October from noon-12:45pm on Zoom.

For more information, please contact Rebecca Tolley.

Navigating the Sherrod Library Website
Wednesday, September 7, 2022
12:00pm - 12:45pm
Registration is required for this event.
Spend a half-hour visiting different parts of the library's website and learn how it can help you find information about services, spaces, and events, but most importantly, our resources.

Using OneSearch
Wednesday, September 14, 2022
12:00pm - 12:45pm
Registration is required for this event.
Learn to use OneSearch, the library's one-stop shop for finding books, articles, streaming media and more.

Introduction to Databases
Wednesday, September 21, 2022
12:00pm - 12:45pm
Registration is required for this event.
Discover the library's many databases and how to search them effectively to find peer-reviewed articles and more.

Adding DEIBA (Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, Belonging, and Accessibility) Elements to Your Research
Wednesday, September 28, 2022
12:00pm - 12:45pm
Registration is required for this event.
Learn search strategies, terminology, and resources for locating DEIBA materials.

Finessing the Literature Review and Annotated Bibliography
Wednesday, October 5, 2022
12:00pm - 12:45pm
Registration is required for this event.
We'll learn the difference between annotated bibliographies and literature reviews, as well as systematic strategies to create each.

Finding Government Information
Wednesday, October 19, 2022
12:00pm - 12:45pm
Registration is required for this event.
Grasp the basics of finding government information, law, and map materials in OneSearch (our library catalog) as well as helpful government websites.

Tools and Strategies for Citation Management
Wednesday, October 26, 2022
12:00pm - 12:45pm
Registration is required for this event.
Learn the differences between the major citation styles (APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian), how to generate (mostly) accurate citations in OneSearch and our databases, and discover how citation management platforms help you organize your resources for longer projects, theses, and dissertations.

"Saving Bucs" Open and Affordable Course Materials Workshop

"Saving Bucs" workshop will be offered twice during Fall 2022 for instructors.

Thursday, October 13, 10-11:30AM
433 Sherrod Library, CTE Conference Room

Tuesday, October 25, 10-11:30AM
433 Sherrod Library, CTE Conference Room

Learn about Open Educational Resources (OER) and Affordable course materials and see how you can integrate them into your courses. Also learn about the Open and Affordable Awards and how to apply.

Register Here 

Upcoming Workshops

Graduate Workshops

Profile Photo
Dr. Wendy Doucette
Contact:
423-439-4336
Social: YouTube Page