Research Guides & Tutorials : Special Topics

Resources in Sustainability

This guide provides the ETSU community with an overview of research materials and sustainability resources. The guide has four parts: Library Resources, Campus Resources, City and County Resources, and State Resources.

ETSU cemented its commitment to environmental responsibility and education in 2008, with the creation of the Department of Sustainability. Since the department's creation, it has sponsored many of the sustainable initiatives we see on campus today, including the Farmers Market, Move-out Collections, and the Community Garden which can be found at the BucRidge Apartments.

LGBTQIA+ Library Resources

Sherrod Library is committed to being a community that values diversity in our collections, among our users, and our employees. The free and open exchange of information and experiences is a critical first step in helping all of us gain a greater understanding of what it means to be a unique individual in a very diverse world. It is with this hope that we present these library resources relating to the LGBTQIA+ experience.

In this guide you will discover information about our collections and spaces relating to LGBTQIA+ library resources.

Anti-Racism Resources

Sherrod Library condemns the death of George Floyd - and countless other Black Americans - in police custody. We unequivocally affirm the values of diversity, inclusion, equity, and empathy. We offer our resources and services to our community wishing to advance these values.

The resources within this guide are free to the ETSU community and address topics such as race, racism, and privilege in the United States.

What if Cancer Turns to Creative Research? A Special Topic Guide

Dr. Caro Novella is ETSU's Spring 2024 Basler Chair of Excellence for the Integration of the Arts, Rhetoric, and Sciences. She has published work in both the English and Spanish languages in journals like Performance Review, and TDR: The Drama Review. This guide includes a list of book recommendations which contains memoirs, research, and textbooks on cancer, medicine, disability, and the arts.

Equity and Inclusion in Instruction

The purpose of this guide is to serve as a resources for those who are interested in promoting equity and inclusion in the classroom. The majority of the content in this guide is available through Sherrod Library. Other materials are free of charge.

This guide is meant to serve as a supplement to the 3rd Annual Equity and Inclusion Conference a campus-coordinated event through the Office of Equity and Inclusion.

In this guide you will find resources to Read, Watch, Listen to, and ways to take Action in your own classroom.

The New Graduate Student's Survival Guide

This guide contains a selection of campus and community information beneficial for new graduate students at ETSU. All of the resources listed are in Johnson City or on campus, with an emphasis on those within walking distance of ETSU.  All can be reached within a drive of ten minutes or less, and all are on the bus route. 

We hope these resources will help you settle in more easily so that you can have a beneficial and productive experience here! 

Children's Resources Guide

In this guide, you can discover some of the new and classic titles offered in the children's (Juvenile) section. Located on the 3rd floor of Sherrod Library, this collection comprises fiction and non-fiction, as well as a great selection of easy readers, perfect for children aged 0-6! Browse the drop-down menus to the left that we have chosen to highlight from our collection. This section is open to anyone with ETSU borrowing privileges - not just for kids!