Open Educational Resources Guide Copyright
Open Educational Resources guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
General Collections
- Computer Science Open GeneralCollection of courses and resources on topics related to computer science
- Merlot II: ComputingAssignments, assessment tools, case studies, courses, textbooks, and more
- National Science Digital Library: Computing and InformationEducational resources for teaching and learning in the STEM field
- OER Commons: Computer ScienceCourses, lessons, textbooks, simulations, and more
- Open CultureAudio books, courses, movies, language lessons, textbooks, and more
Textbooks
- BCcampus Open Textbook Project: Computer ScienceTextbooks based on the highest-enrolled subjects in British Columbia
- College Open Textbooks: Computer ScienceTextbooks focusing on lower division college courses
- Open Textbook Library: Computer Science & Information SystemsTextbooks used at higher education institutions
Courses and Related Materials
- Code AcademyCourses in coding
- edX: Computer ScienceCourses provided by colleges and universities
- Khan Academy: ComputingPractice exercises, instructional videos, and reference materials
- Open Learning Initiative CoursesOLI courses from Carnegie Mellon and Stanford
- Open Michigan: Information TechnologySyllabi, assignments, lectures, course materials, student work, and labs
- Saylor Academy: Computer ScienceCourses at college and professional levels
Books and Journals
- arXiv.orgE-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, and more
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB): Computer ScienceDirectory of academic, peer-reviewed books
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Computer ScienceDirectory of high quality, peer-reviewed journals
- E-Books Directory: Computers & InternetBooks, documents, and lecture notes
- Freebookcentre.net: Computer ScienceTechnical books
- Free Tech Books: Computer ScienceOpen Access Online Computer Science books, textbooks, and lecture notes.
- InTechOpen: Computer and Information ScienceBooks in the science, technology and medicine fields
- Onlineprogrammingbooks.comEbooks related to programming, computer science, and more
Video and Audio
- TED: ComputersTED Talks from experts on various topics
- University of Oxford Podcasts: Department of Computer ScienceEducational podcasts from the University of Oxford
- Videolectures.NET: ComputersRepository of educational video lectures
- Videolectures.NET: Computer ScienceRepository of educational video lectures
- Videolectures.NET: TechnologyRepository of educational video lectures
Finding OERs
Due to high volumes of Open Educational Resources available online, it can be difficult to search for OERs if you do not know where to look.
You may want to start by searching the Mason OER Metafinder. The Mason OER Metafinder searches across prominent OER collections including MERLOT, OASIS, and OER Commons. While it is very comprehensive, it still does not search through every available OER.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)We have listed below collections of OERs and other free resources for you to browse and search specific to this subject. Use the site(s) that you prefer most!
Evaluating OERs
This guide includes collections of OERs and other freely available online educational resources. Quality, accessibility, and copyright of the materials may vary. Review our Open Educational Resources guide for more information on evaluating OERs.
Contact
For questions regarding Open Educational Resources, please email oer@etsu.edu