Sources through Sherrod Library & ETSU
Below you will find databases for finding primary sources as well as links to some of the collections we have at ETSU.
Databases through Sherrod
The databases below will help you find primary sources outside of ETSU.
- Archive Finder This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Current directory of over 5,600 repositories and more than 175,000 collections of primary source material
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new windowGale - U.S. foreign policy, civil rights, global affairs, colonial studies, and modern history
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowDigital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences
Collections at ETSU
- News SourcesA guide for accessing news sources through the library.
- Government Information, Law, and MapsSherrod Library has been a federal document depository for the First Congressional District of Tennessee since 1942, although many items in our collection were published prior to that date. We are currently 1 of 21 federal depository libraries in the state of Tennessee, selecting over 32% of the items distributed by the United States Government Printing Office. Our documents collection is one of the seven largest in Tennessee, and we serve as a shared regional depository, with the University of Memphis Library as the primary depository for the state. Collection strengths are in areas relating to the environment, the Appalachian region, mining, health, justice, and veterans' affairs.
- Archives of AppalachiaThe Archives of Appalachia is a repository for memories — the written words, images, and sounds that document life in southern Appalachia. We steward nearly two miles of rare manuscripts, 250,000 photographs, 90,000 audio and moving image recordings, and 14,000 books.
Nearly 2,000 patrons visit the Archives in person each year, and 65,000 more from over 50 countries engage with our holdings online.
Tips for Finding Primary Sources
- Be flexible it is important to remember that not everything has been preserved. When searching, consider the historical context of when the item was create and entered the preservation cycle. Many materials are housed away from their place of creation due to colonization or purchase.
- Consider keywords you may be able to find primary sources by using the same search terms that you used to find a journal article. However, this is not always the case. Think of synonyms for the item you're looking for, such as "day book" for journal.
- Check citations if an article you've read mentions a primary source you'd like to use, check the citation! Be sure to cite the source you found it in.
- Ask for help sometimes when we're looking for a specific item, it's hard to think outside of the box. Feel free to ask for assistance if you're having trouble finding resources.