Skip to main content

Library Updates and News

Collections

Collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and that may require staff-mediated access.

ETSU-Washington County Cooperative Law Collection

The ETSU-Washington County Cooperative Law Collection was created by Tennessee Private Act, Chapter 127, in 1977 and has been located in Sherrod Library's Documents, Law, and Maps department since 1978. This special collection supports ETSU courses in law and political science. 

Cooperative Law Collection print materials must be used in the library. The collection contains approximately 16,000 volumes and includes federal, state, and local codes; case reporters and citators; legal encyclopedias; specialized treatises and related legal reference material. Current access to federal and state codes, cases, legislation, and legal reference materials is available online in:

Sherrod Library's law collection is the largest in the region and is the only major law library between the University of Tennessee College of Law in Knoxville, the Washington and Lee University School of Law in Lexington, VA, and the Appalachian School of Law in Grundy, VA. While several law firms in the region have libraries of similar size and scope, they are not available for use by the general public. The ETSU cooperative law collection is available at no charge to the general public as well as ETSU affiliated individuals.


The staff of the Documents, Law, and Maps department can help provide access to legal resources, but we do not provide legal advice. For help with civil legal assistance we recommend contacting Legal Aid of East Tennessee (www.laet.org) or a licensed attorney.

Need help with legal research?

We cannot provide legal advice but will be happy to help you use our legal resources. 

Phone: (423) 439-5674

E-mailneasep@etsu.edu