Art

Openly Accessible Collections at the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Use this resource to find high-quality images in the public domain without paying a subscription or access fee. The Metropolitan Museum of Art has over 492,000 images freely available for public use. In addition to the images available for use, the Met allows users to access associated datasets in both JSON and CSV formats. For more information on the Met's open access policies, click here.

• Make note of the "Show Only" banner, located under the search box. To make sure you only get results that fall under Creative Commons Zero, be sure that "Public Domain" is selected.
• Check out the "Filter by" option, also beneath the search bar. The drop down selection list for "Object Type/Material" can be a great place to browse through for inspiration, with options as varied as: "Baseball Cards," "Lithographs," and "Costumes."
• Searching
  • The search function does not recognize boolean operators like a typical database. Using the filter options tends to be a more efficient way to search, unless there is a specific artist or named work one is searching for. 

• Over a thousand digital copies of the Met's print publications may be accessed are available online.
  • Highlights include the Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin and the Metropolitan Museum Journal
    • Journal volumes published within the past ~10 years are considered still in print, and are not viewable online
• Perspectives
  • Including articles, podcast episodes, and video content, this tab provides context and a platform for conversation in the Met community.
• Thomas J. Watson Library Digital Collections
  • Browse their catalog here
  • This catalog aggregates several different collections and material types, including publications, rare book holdings, and decorated book bindings.

Openly Accessible Collections at the Art Institute of Chicago

Use this resource to find high-quality images in the public domain without paying a subscription or access fee. The Art Institute has over 50,000 images in the public domain, including a significant number of works from Asia with over 6,000 of the images in this collection originating from Japan. For more information regarding the Art Institute's open access policies, click here.

• When browsing the collection, the ability to refine by open access results can be found under "Show Filters" and, at the bottom of that list, "Show only: Public domain." To be sure you only get results that fall under Creative Commons Zero, be sure that option is selected.
• For better browsing, check out the filters on the left side of the screen. The Art Institute allows for filtering via ten different variables including color, places, and mediums.
• Artworks, Writing, Resources
  • You may notice these options above the search box. The default option will be artworks, which searches the art collection, but for institutional publications, check out the writing tab, and for information about doing research with Art Institute collections, check out resources.

• Interactive features
  • Explore a burgeoning interest with these digital deep-dives, typically focused on one object. Check out this Interactive Feature on "The Wonderground Map," for a look at a transit map from 1914 London.
• Publications
  • The Blog - Perfect for casual or general interest reading
  • The Art Institute also publishes a number of free-to-read digital magazine and journals.
• The Library Catalog
  • Find books, dissertations, image records, and much more with the AIC Research Center.

Openly Accessible Collections with Rijiksmusum's Rijkstudio

Use this resource to find high-quality images in the public domain without paying a subscription or access fee. With a free-to-make account, users can download hundreds of thousands of images, including those from Dutch masters like Johannes Vermeer, Rembrandt van Rijn, and Jan Havicksz Steen. 

• Use the Advanced Search function to search by maker, object, or subject.
• A general search may also be refined using filters found on the left side of the screen.
  • Some filters include, object type, material, and technique, all of which can be helpful if you are just looking to browse, and not for a certain work.
• The vast majority of results in Rijkstudio are in the public domain, those that are not will not provide you with the option to download. Each item includes "Object Data" which can be found by scrolling beneath the image. This data provides additional information on the objects acquisition, provenance, and rights.

• Create your own collections
  • Rijkstudio allows users to create their own collections or "sets" of materials, effectively allowing individuals to save and sort content as they please
  • To access this feature, click the heart icon which can be found both in within a record, and in a record's thumbnail image.
• Vermeer Discovery Tour
  • Use this resource to get a closer look at the works of Johannes Vermeer, complete with expert insights and high-quality zoom-ins.

Openly Accessible Collections with The National Gallery of Art

Use this resource to find high-quality images in the public domain without paying a subscription or access fee. This resource provides access to over 50,000 images in the public domain, as well as 100,000+ datasets. For more information on the National Gallery of Arts Open Access policies, click here.

• When searching for results that only bring up public domain images, make sure the filter "Image Download Available" is selected.
  • Images that are available for download will almost always be in the public domain.
• The search function for the National Gallery of Art is geared towards specific searches. If you are interested in browsing, try using this page.
  • Here you will find options to browse by medium, with the ability to further refine depending on your choice.
  • Be sure to filter your results by "Online Image/Image Download Available."
    • You may also note the download icon beneath image, indicated by an arrow pointing downwards, into an open box.
  • For definite information about whether or not an image is in the public domain, check the Image Use field to the right of the image.

• Collection Highlights
  • Use this resource to discover something new. Not all featured images will be available for download, but all are free for viewing with the National Gallery of Art website.
• Talks
  • Events and discussions that are free for the public to attend and view.
• Library Catalog
  • The National Gallery of Art has a library with items that can be accessed both in-person and online.
  • Check out collection highlights here.