HIST 5030: Studies in World History - Women in Africa (Spring 2024)

Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. 19th Century British Pamphlets, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.

Archive Finder integrates the following information into comprehensive collection records: The entire collection of NUCMC from 1959 to 2009. The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) includes information gathered and indexed by the Library of Congress, covering 115,000 collections. Names and detailed subject indexing of 72,000 collections whose finding aids have been published separately in ProQuest UMI's microfiche series, National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS). Names and detailed subject indexing of over 47,000 collections whose finding aids have been published separately in ProQuest UMI's microfiche series, National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United Kingdom and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland). Collection descriptions submitted directly to us from repositories. A growing number of more than 6,000 links to online finding aids.

The contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies. This ProQuest full-text journal database has been created to complement the CSA Illumina portfolio of Arts and Humanities databases. Subscribers to any of these databases - including ARTBibliographies Modern, Design and Applied Arts Index, British Humanities Index, MLA International Bibliography and Philosopher's Index amongst others - can link directly from citations in these indexes to the corresponding full-text articles.

Scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers offering balanced coverage of events in world history.

HeritageQuest Online supports American genealogical research with unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. With coverage dating back to the 1700s, the collection includes U.S. Federal Census from 1790 through 1940, with name indexes for many decades; family and local histories; city directories; Revolutionary War records with original images of selected Veterans Administration records, pension, and bounty land warrant application files; Freedmanâs Bank Records (1865-1874), with names of bank applicants, their dependents, and heirs; the U.S. Congressional Serial Set containing memorials, petitions, and private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress back to 1789.

Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals, which 470 are peer-reviewed going as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

A shared digital library, JSTOR includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. Contains more than 50 million pages with approximately 3 million pages added annually.Early Journal Content published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere includes discourse and scholarship in the arts and humanities, economics and politics, and in mathematics and other sciences. These 500,000 articles from more than 200 journals represent 6% of the content on JSTOR. ETSU also subscribes to the JSTOR eBook collection (over 15,000 titles)

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914 for the purpose of chronicling the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. Formed to prepare and disseminate information, PAIS defines the "realm of public policy" as all subjects that bear on contemporary issues and the making and evaluating of public policy, irrespective of source or traditional disciplinary boundaries. This includes the policy-oriented literature of the academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations, the environment, demography, public health, science and technology, and reports and commentary on public affairs from the serious general press. The PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Publications dealing with matters of general public interest are listed; those of interest mainly to practitioners in the field are not. Historical works that are directly applicable to current problems may be included on occasion, but publications dealing mainly with events prior to World War II are normally omitted. Efforts are made to represent the full range of positions on controversial subjects. Updated monthly, PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. PAIS indexes publications of governments and nongovernmental organizations at the international, regional, national, state (provincial), and local levels. PAIS tries to balance US and international sources. PAIS does not index journals cover-to-cover but selects articles relevant to public policy. Records include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more

TThis database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.

The liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime was one of the major political developments of the 20th century, with far-reaching consequences for people throughout Africa and around the globe. This collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.

World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The materials in World Heritage Sites: Africa serve researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning. The collection is also a tool for museums, libraries, NGOs, and government organizations that manage or oversee cultural heritage sites, as well as for experts and professionals engaged in the conservation and management of such sites.