General Collections
- Mason OER MetafinderSearches across notable OER collections including MERLOT, OASIS, and OER Commons
- MERLOT: AnthropologySearches 90,000+ records with the option to search other OER collections and the web
- OASIS: AnthropologySearches 380,000+ records from 90+ reputable OER sites
- OER Commons: AnthropologySearches 50,000+ records of curated, high-quality OERs
Textbooks
- Open Textbook Library: AnthropologyTextbooks used at higher education institutions
Books and Journals
- University of California Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004: AnthropologyBooks from academic presses
- OAPENQuality controlled collection of open access books
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)Directory of academic, peer-reviewed books
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)Directory of high quality, peer-reviewed journals
Courses and Related Materials
- MIT OpenCourseWare: AnthropologyCourse content from MIT
- Open Course LibraryHigh-quality, free-to-use courses that you can download from Google docs
Images, Videos, and Audio
- Creative Commons SearchImages under creative commons licenses from museums and other sites (Wikimedia Commons, Flickr)
- Google ImagesSearch for images licensed for reuse by clicking Tools under the search box then Usage Rights
- YouTubeSearch for videos under Creative Commons licenses by clicking Filter then Creative Commons (under Features)
- Anthropology Videos and Other ResourcesA list of online videos and video clips for anthropology or cross-cultural classes
- TED Talks: AnthropologyTED Talks from experts on various topics
- Listen NotesSearch the whole Internet's podcasts; Podcasts are free to students but usually not under CC licenses
- University of Oxford Podcasts: Social and Cultural AnthropologyEducational podcasts from the University of Oxford
- Anthropology Mini LecturesA collective resource for online teaching
Primary Sources
- British Museum ImagesImages of world culture and history: ceramics, prints, drawings, and paintings
- Digital Public Library of AmericaDiverse types of materials from America’s cultural heritage institutions
- Europeana CollectionsArtworks, artifacts, books, videos, and sounds from across Europe
- Google Dataset SearchSearch across thousands of data repositories across the Web
- Library of CongressPrimary sources from the Library of Congress
- Smithsonian's Department of Anthropology Collections and Archives ProgramHistorical and contemporary materials from the Smithsonian Anthropology Department
- World Digital LibraryManuscripts, maps, photos, recordings, films, and more from around the world
Open Educational Resources guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Can't Find What You Need?
If you are having trouble finding resources, complete our Request to Locate Open and Affordable Educational Resources Form. We will be in contact with a list of resources that we could locate based on your needs. While new OERs are being created everyday, there is no guarantee that we will be able to find all the resources you need for your course(s) as they may not exist yet.
Evaluating OERs
This guide includes collections of OERs and other freely available online educational resources. Quality, accessibility, and copyright of the materials may vary. Review our Open Educational Resources guide for more information on evaluating OERs.
Contact
For questions regarding Open Educational Resources, please email oer@etsu.edu