Search Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods contains research methods, cases, datasets, and videos. All of these interfaces can be individually searched:
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowResearch methodology at all levels, step by step
- SAGE Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new windowCase studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects.
- SAGE Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new windowCollection of datasets that can be used to support the teaching and learning of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences.
- SAGE Research Methods Videos This link opens in a new window480+ videos covering the research process and hundreds of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods.
Research Methods in Archival Studies
Historical researchers often use documentary, biographical, oral history, and archival methods, in addition to many of the methods commonly used across the social sciences. Historical research is often concerned with topics related to social change over time and data can take many forms, including photographs and secondary data and documents from a range of official and academic sources. Literature reviews are an important part of many historical research projects and interpreting various sources critically is a key skill historians develop. For an introduction to the range of approaches to historical research, try "Historical Research” in A-Z of Social Science Research.
Suggested Methods Books in Archival Studies
Archival Strategies and Techniques by ISBN: 9780803948259Publication Date: 1993-09-28Historical and biographical work is becoming a more common type of qualitative research done by social scientists and usually requires the extensive use of formal archives housed in universities, governments, museums and other institutions. This practical and concise book provides an introduction for the novice on conducting archival research and covers such topics as contacting and preparing to work in archives, the protocol of using archives, and ways of organizing and referencing the useful data from the archive.
Working with Archival Data by ISBN: 9780803942622Publication Date: 1992-10-07The number of longitudinal data archives is growing almost daily, yet no resource exists to help understand the relationship between research questions and archival data--until now. Drawing on a single project, the Lewis Terman Study at Stanford University, the authors illustrate how to use the model-fitting process to select and fit the right data set to a particular research problem. Employing a step-by-step approach, this handy volume covers the measurement of historical influences, the adaptation of existing coding schemes to temporal patterns that are characteristic of life records, and the recasting of archival materials to illuminate contemporary questions that the data were not designed to answer.Learn more about "The Little Green Book" - QASS Series! Click Here
Methods Map
Need to find a Method? Explore the Methods Map!
Quick Links
- SAGE Research Methods
- Little Green Books (Quantitative Methods)
- Little Blue Books (Qualitative Methods)
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Case studies of real research projects
- Sample datasets for hands-on practice
- Streaming video--see methods come to life
- Methodspace--a community for researchers
- SAGE Research Methods Course Mapping