A Dictionary of Animal Behaviour (2 ed.) by David McFarlandCovering every aspect of animal behaviour from adaptation to warning, this accessible A–Z also includes terms from the related fields of ecology, physiology and psychology. Clear and informative entries on topics such as communication, learning, and navigation are backed up by examples and illustrations where appropriate. The new edition adds 80 new entries, expands coverage of behavioural ecology, cognitive ethology, and evolutionary theory, and brings the text up to date with new theories and research.
Publication Date: 2014
A Dictionary of Biology by Robert Hine (Editor)This new eighth edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect recent progress in the fields of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, with particular expansion to the areas of research design and plant and animal development. Over 120 new entries include de-extinction, ecological footprint, rewilding, and Zika virus, now totalling over 5,600 authoritative and up-to-date entries. Numerous appendices include classifications of the animal and plant kingdoms, SI units, Nobel prizewinners, and a new appendix on anatomical terms. With new diagrams and updated web links, this remains the market-leading dictionary for students of biology, both at sixth form college and university level.
Publication Date: 2019-07-01
A Dictionary of Ecology (5 ed.) by Michael AllabyWritten in a clear, accessible style, this authoritative and wide-ranging dictionary contains entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Entries cover topics such as plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology, and meteorology. It also includes many line drawings and useful appendices.
Publication Date: 2015
A Dictionary of Genetics by Robert C. King; Pamela K. Mulligan; William D. StansfieldThis eighth edition of A Dictionary of Genetics contains over 7,500 up-to-date and cross-referenced entries, including 540 that are newly written. The entries include the latest terminology, concepts, theories, and techniques, covering not only genetics but also such overlapping disciplines ascell biology, medicine, and evolutionary biology. The fully revised six appendices are a unique source of detailed supplementary information, including a chronology of scientific and technological breakthroughs spanning the period from 1590 to the present, lists of useful internet sites and journals, and a table of sample genome sizes and genenumbers. A Dictionary of Genetics continues to be the definitive reference work for students, educators, and clinicians in the field of genetics.
Publication Date: 2012-12-06
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Richard Cammack (Editor); Teresa K. Attwood; Peter Campbell; Howard Parish; Anthony Smith; John Stirling; Frank VellaOver the last few years, the language of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has expanded enormously to the extent that few scientists can expect to be familiar with all the terms and concepts. This is partly due the massive influence of the Genome and successive "-omics" projects which havedeveloped in to many new areas of research. At the same time, terms from other subject areas - including mathematics, statistics, physics and other life sciences - appear increasingly in the biochemical literature. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive and 'encyclopaedic' survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. This new edition of the popular dictionary has been comprehensively reviewed and updated to include many important new concepts and words. Theentries are short but informative, providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.There are over 21000 main entries, which include: details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, methods and concepts in molecular biology, and definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. Each entry is accessibly written. They point out pitfalls where termsare often confused, and explain the precise syntax of biochemical terms such as Greek letters and other formatting, which are invariably lost when searching the Internet. In addition, the dictionary is generously illustrated with over 900 chemical structures. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will serve as an invaluable reference text for student and professional biochemists and molecular biologists seeking information both from within and outside their own fields. It will also be of relevance and use to a broader audience oflife scientists seeking an authoritative overview of fundamental principles.
Publication Date: 2008
A Dictionary of Plant Sciences by Michael AllabyThis new fourth edition has been completely revised and updated, covering all aspects in the field of plant sciences including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and earth sciences.Over 500 new entries, including Rosales, physical dormancy, menthol, and codeine, enhance the dictionary's coverage of botanical terms, key drugs and medicines derived from plants, and plant orders, families, and genera. It also explains many ecological terms, and expands beyond plants to describefungi and bacteria and how they affect plants.Numerous appendices include Plant Classification and SI Units, with new timelines showing important moments in plant evolution. For ease of use, vernacular plant names have been transferred to an appendix, fully cross-referenced to the A to Z entries. The dictionary's dedicated companion websitepoints to recommended web links and additional resources.The most up-to-date dictionary available on its subject, this is an essential resource for students of plant sciences and amateur botanists, as well as an entertaining and valuable guide for the plant enthusiast.
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
Oxford Dictionary of Zoology by Michael AllabyWith over 6,000 entries, A Dictionary of Zoology is a detailed and authoritative guide to all areas of the field. It offers full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals. It also includes terms from the areas of ecology, animalbehaviour, evolution, earth history, zoogeography, genetics, and physiology.All entries have been fully revised and updated, making this the most up-to-date reference guide of its kind. There are around 400 entries new to this edition covering areas that include taxonomic groups, prefixes, and widely used descriptive terms. These include articles on micronucleus, stoma,platy-, proto-, and terrestrial.The dictionary is enriched through its useful web links, accessible via the companion website, as well as diagrams and detailed appendices. This fifth edition also includes a new Common Names appendix and three new illustrations.
Publication Date: 2020-08-18
Biological Science Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Evolution by Mark Pagel (Editor)From the classic work of Darwin to current developments in such fields as psychology and economics, evolutionary biology is an increasingly powerful tool for understanding the natural world. Here in two volumes is a comprehensive, accessible, and authoritative guide to what we know about evolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond. The Encyclopedia of Evolution covers the essentials of evolutionary biology in 370 original articles written by leading experts. The articles cover basic concepts and theories; models, methods, and findings; schools of thought; current controversies; biographies; and more. The Encyclopedia covers evolutionary thought in genetics, animal behavior, and every area of the life sciences, as well as in anthropology, psychology, linguistics, sociology, economics, medicine, philosophy, and other fields. There are hundreds of tables, charts, grtaphs, maps and other illustrations, bibliographies, cross-references and index. Designed for students and teachers in both high schools and colleges and universities, and scholars and scientists in the natural and social sciences, the Encyclopedia of Evolution will be the first point of access to this growing body of knowledge.
The Encyclopedia of Mammals (3 ed.) by David W. Macdonald‘an ultimate in natural history books’ - Irish Times Written by an international team of experts and edited by renowned zoologist Professor David Macdonald, this new edition of The Encyclopedia of Mammals has been comprehensively revised and updated to reflect the most recent developments in modern zoology. It covers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world in clear, accessible language, and is superbly illustrated throughout with photographs and original artwork. There are also feature articles on a range of fascinating topics, such as: Why d ... More
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Underwater Life by Andrew CampbellA fascinating, in-depth exploration of the hidden underwater world, this spectacularly illustrated encyclopedia examines the creatures that inhabit our seas, rivers, lakes, and oceans, revealing the often unexpected and bewilderingly diverse secrets of the deep. detailed, comprehensive coverage of thousands of underwater species, among them barracudas, piranhas, sharks, octopuses, corals, sponges, jellyfish, and leeches, describing the distribution, habitat, anatomy, behaviour, breeding, and conservation status of groups. Clear, authoritative scholarship from an international team of experts is enhanced by incredible colour photographs and explanatory diagrams. distribution of species; and there are feature articles on key topics such as the biological organization of coral reefs, and the lifecycle of the salmon. A list of scientific names, a glossary, and a general index make this encyclopedia accessible and easy to navigate. anyone interested in learning more about aquatic life.
Publication Date: 2007
New Encyclopedia of Birds by Christopher Perrins (Editor)The New Encyclopedia of Birds is the definitive New Encyclopedia of Birdse birds of the world. Entries prepared by a team of renowned biologists and by Christopher M. Perrins, stematic account of every family, covering their form and function, distribution, diet, social ISBN: 0-19-852506-0ding biology. With one-eighth of all bird GBP35.00s now under threat, special attention is given to GBP26.25nmental and conservation issues. The Encyclopedia's clear, readable text is supplemented by a wealth of photographs showing the wide diversity of birds in their natural habitat. In addition, beautifully Dear Contributor, d line artworks depict representative species in each family and highlight characteristic The New Encyclopedia of Birds has recently been published, and as a thank you for your valued help with this project we would like to offer you a 25 per cent discount on the published price. distribution maps and scale drawings, put key data at the reader's fingertips. A fully revised and updated successor to the same editor's acclaimed Encyclopedia of Birds (1990), this comprehensive reference work will appeal both to the amateur birdwatcher and to the student of ornithology
Publication Date: 2007
The New Encyclopedia of Insects and their Allies (3 rev. ed.) by Christopher O’TooleWith around one million species, insects and their allies are by far the most successful, variable and bizarre group of living things to have evolved on our planet. Yet much of their biology continues to remain a mystery. In this definitive and beautifully written book, Christopher O'Toole has compiled an authoritative overview of all the world’s terrestrial anthropods. Written by the world’s leading experts in entomology, the accounts are accessible to both scientific and general readers. Taking each group in turn, from millipedes to mantids and from spiders to scorpions, this volume provides ... More
The New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians (2 ed.) by Tim Halliday and Kraig AdlerThere has been a huge surge of interest in reptiles and amphibians over the past few years in both scientific research and common interest. This superbly designed and illustrated encyclopedia has brought together a wealth of new and fascinating information on amphibians and reptiles in one volume. Written by a stream of distinguished zoologists and brought together by internationally renowned experts, Tim Halliday and Kraig Adler, the encyclopedia gives an ... More