Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering by
A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering is one of the latest additions to the market leading Oxford Paperback Reference series. In over 3,400 concise and authoritative A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for chemical engineering terms in areas including: materials, energybalances, reactions, separations, sustainability, safety, and ethics. Naturally, the dictionary also covers many pertinent terms from the fields of chemistry, physics, biology, and mathematics.Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Comprehensively cross-referenced and complemented by over 60 line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most authoritative dictionary of its kind. It is anessential reference source for students of chemical engineering, for professionals in this field (as well as related disciplines such as applied chemistry, chemical technology, and process engineering), and for anyone with an interest in the subject.
ISBN: 9780191744464Publication Date: 2014-03-01
A Dictionary of Construction, Surveying, and Civil Engineering by
The latest addition to the Oxford Paperback Reference series, this A to Z is the most up-to-date dictionary of building, surveying, and civil engineering terms and definitions available.Written by an experienced team of experts in the respective fields, it covers in over 9,800 entries the key areas of construction technology and practice, civil and construction engineering, construction management techniques and processes, and legal aspects such as contracts and procurement.Illustrations complement entries where necessary and other extra features include a bibliography, appendices providing a list of commonly used conventions, formulae, and symbols, as well as entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website.Its wide coverage makes it the ideal reference for students of construction and related areas, as well as for professionals in the field.
ISBN: 9780191757624Publication Date: 2012-05-04
A Dictionary of Energy Science by
This new dictionary covers terms related to energy technologies and their impact on the world’s energy use. It sets out the principles behind each technology’s operation, as well as its economic, environmental, and social impacts. Coverage includes energy demand and conservation, electricity generation and distribution, energy storage, renewable energy and fossil fuel technologies, nuclear energy, environmental issues, energy and society, and biographies of eminent energy scientists. The text is complemented by illustrations, a chronology, and global statistics on energy use.
ISBN: 9780191826276Publication Date: 2017
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering by
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering is one of the latest additions to the market leading Oxford Paperback Reference series. In over 8,500 clear and concise A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for mechanical engineering terms in the core areas of design, stressanalysis, dynamics and vibrations, thermodynamics, and fluid mechanics. Topics covered include heat transfer, combustion, control, lubrication, robotics, instrumentation, and measurement. Where relevant, the dictionary also touches on related subject areas such as acoustics, bioengineering, chemicalengineering, civil engineering, aeronautical engineering, environmental engineering, and materials science.Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Cross-referenced and including many line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of its kind. It is an essentialreference for students of mechanical engineering and for anyone with an interest in the subject.
ISBN: 9780191752308Publication Date: 2014
