Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Energy Science by
This new dictionary covers terms related to energy technologies and their impact on the world’s energy use. It sets out the principles behind each technology’s operation, as well as its economic, environmental, and social impacts. Coverage includes energy demand and conservation, electricity generation and distribution, energy storage, renewable energy and fossil fuel technologies, nuclear energy, environmental issues, energy and society, and biographies of eminent energy scientists. The text is complemented by illustrations, a chronology, and global statistics on energy use.
ISBN: 9780191826276Publication Date: 2017
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation (3 ed.) by
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment—its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories. Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, this is the ideal reference for students of environment and conservation, as well as for professionals in the field.
ISBN: 9780191826320Publication Date: 2017
A Supplementary Dictionary of Renewable Energy and Sustainability by
A Supplementary Dictionary of Renewable Energy and Sustainability consists of over 300 A to Z entries relating to these subjects, expanding on Oxford's coverage in works such as A Dictionary of Environment & Conservation. It includes key terms associated with fossil- and nuclear-fuelled energy systems, renewable energy sources such as solar thermal, bioenergy, tidal power and wind power, and energy costings.
ISBN: 9780199654581Publication Date: 2013
Companion Books
The Oxford Companion to Global Change by
The Oxford Companion to Global Change is an up-to-date, comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment. In one convenient volume, the Companion brings together current knowledge about the relations betweentechnological, social, demographic, economic, and political factors as well as biological, chemical, and physical systems. It is an essential reference work for students, teachers, researchers, and other professionals seeking to understand any aspect of global change.
ISBN: 9780199891467Publication Date: 2008-11-21
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Global Change by
Mapping the relationship between human society and the Earth, the Encyclopedia of Global Change is the first general reference guide to the impact of politics, population, economics, and technology on the planet. Containing over 300 original, signed articles by distinguished scholars, it isthe comprehensive work for this multi-discipline, high-profile field. The Encyclopedia synethsizes current knowledge on natural and human-made changes in the Earth's physical , chemical, and biological systems and the effects of these changes on society. Areas such as altered ecosystems, climate change, food supply, water production and consumption, population, andthe political impact of global change are covered in detail. And the clearly written articles also include responses to global modification, agreements and associations, institutions, policies, biographies, and case studies. Enhanced by 1,500 illustrations, extensive cross-references, bibliographies, and an index, the Encyclopedia of Global Change links essential knowledge across many fields-geography, geology, geophysics, atmospheric science, political science, economics, technology, and others-in a resource that isboth accessible and authoritative. The jargon-free language makes it an excellent work for the professional scholar as well as the interested general reader.
ISBN: 9780195187588Publication Date: 2005
