Search Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods contains research methods, cases, datasets, and videos. All of these interfaces can be individually searched:
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowResearch methodology at all levels, step by step
- SAGE Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new windowCase studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects.
- SAGE Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new windowCollection of datasets that can be used to support the teaching and learning of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences.
- SAGE Research Methods Videos This link opens in a new window480+ videos covering the research process and hundreds of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods.
Research Methods in Business & Management
Business and Management researchers are interested in business-related phenomena, in contexts from commercial businesses to NGOs and charities, to the administrations of schools and hospitals. Areas of interest to researchers include studies of leadership, organizational behavior, and human resource management. Case study methods have a long tradition in Business and Management research, and action or participatory research approaches allow researchers and participants to impact the organisation they are working in. For an introduction to doing Business and Management research, try Doing Management Research.
Suggested Methods Books in Business & Management
Qualitative Methods in Business Research by ISBN: 9781412903172Publication Date: 2008-03-30Covering all the major qualitative approaches in business studies (including case study research, ethnography, narrative inquiry, discourse analysis, grounded theory and action research), this practical how-to guide shows how qualitative methods are used within management, marketing, organizational studies, etc. Within each approach, the authors consider crucial issues such as framing the research, generating research questions, getting access, collecting empirical materials, reporting the results and evaluating the research.
The Handbook of Marketing Research by ISBN: 9781412909976Publication Date: 2006-06-23Accessible and reader-friendly this handbook promotes the curent overarching business philosophy of customer/market focus by emphasizing the need for market research to provide the insights required for making decisions. This book identifies such troubling current trends as biased sample answers on long questionnaires, and `professionals' whose job is to skew focus group responses. Top international researchers from both academia and practice have come together here to provide a broad range of ideas and applications.
Doing Your Dissertation in Business and Management by ISBN: 9781412903516Publication Date: 2006-02-15This is a research book with a difference. It tells the truth about the research process. Each phase of a research project is addressed in the simultaneous order in which researchers often undertake them. Importantly, the book recognizes that writing up a research project is rarely organized in the form in which the dissertation is finally presented. Readers are given guidelines to help them assess the kind of researcher they are and the all important question of how to chose a research project is answered.
Understanding Management Research by ISBN: 9780761969181Publication Date: 2000-12-08This is an invaluable introduction for all students and researchers of management confronting a new research project. How to frame their research questions? Which questions to ask? How to assess the relevance and value of different research methodologies? How to evaluate the outputs of research? Understanding Management Research provides an overview of the principal epistemological debates in social science and how these lead to and are expressed in different ways of conceiving and undertaking organizational research.
Employing Qualitative Methods in the Private Sector by ISBN: 9780803959811Publication Date: 1998-06-17Each year, academic institutions produce thousands of social science graduates, skilled in applied social research - many more than can be absorbed into the teaching profession. In this volume, Marilyn Mitchell provides information often left out of the social science curriculum - how and where can social scientists put their skills to use in the private sector? The book outlines some of the basic private sector research settings, and then provides clear and sensible advice on how to rename skills and market most effectively to the business community.
Methods Map
Need to find a Method? Explore the Methods Map!
Quick Links
- SAGE Research Methods
- Little Green Books (Quantitative Methods)
- Little Blue Books (Qualitative Methods)
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Case studies of real research projects
- Sample datasets for hands-on practice
- Streaming video--see methods come to life
- Methodspace--a community for researchers
- SAGE Research Methods Course Mapping