A Dictionary of Film Studies by Annette Kuhn; Guy WestwellA Dictionary of Film Studies covers all aspects of its discipline as it is currently taught at undergraduate level. Offering exhaustive and authoritative coverage, this A-Z is written by experts in the field, and covers terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism;national, international, and transnational cinemas; film history, movements, and genres; film industry organizations and practices; and key technical terms and concepts.Since its first publication in 2012, the dictionary has been updated to incorporate over 40 new entries, including computer games and film, disability, ecocinema, identity, portmanteau film, Practice as Research, and film in Vietnam. Moreover, numerous revisions have been made to existing entriesto account for developments in the discipline, and changes to film institutions more generally.Indices of films and filmmakers mentioned in the text are included for easy access to relevant entries. The dictionary also has 13 feature articles on popular topics and terms, revised and informative bibliographies for most entries, and more than 100 web links to supplement the text.
Publication Date: 2020-07-12
A Dictionary of Journalism by Tony HarcupA Dictionary of Journalism is an accessible and authoritative quick reference dictionary. It covers over 1,400 wide-ranging entries on the terms that are likely to be encountered by students of the subject, and aims to offer a broad, accessible point of reference on an ever-topical andconstantly-changing field that affects everyone's knowledge and perception of the world.Assuming little or no prior knowledge of the subject, it covers terminology relating to the practice, business, and technology of journalism, as well as its concepts and theories, organizations and institutions, publications, and key events. Related topic areas are covered where they impact on oroffer explanations of journalism: for example in law, where legislation affects journalistic activity; and where sociological studies seek to aid the understanding of journalism. Appendices include a timeline of journalistic developments, contextualising the ever-evolving nature of journalism, aswell as an index of significant individuals in the field.It is an essential companion to all students taking courses in Journalism and Journalism Studies, as well as related subjects such as Communications Studies, Media Studies, and Television and Radio Production.
Publication Date: 2014-07-08
A Dictionary of Media and Communication by Daniel Chandler; Rod MundayThis authoritative and up-to-date A-Z covers all aspects of interpersonal, mass, and networked communication, including digital and mobile media, advertising, journalism, and nonverbal communication. This new edition is particularly focused on expanding coverage of social media terms, toreflect its increasing prominence to media and communication studies as a whole.More than 2,000 entries have been revised, and over 500 new terms have been added to reflect current theoretical terminology, including concepts such as artificial intelligence, cisgender, fake news, hive mind, use theory, and wikiality. The dictionary also bridges the gap between theory andpractice, and contains many technical terms that are relevant to the communication industry, including dialogue editing, news aggregator, and primary colour correction.The text is complemented by biographical notes and extensively cross-referenced, while web links supplement the entries. It is an indispensable guide for undergraduate students of media and communication studies, and also for those taking related subjects such as television studies, videoproduction, communication design, visual communication, marketing communications, semiotics, and cultural studies.
Publication Date: 2020-03-23
A Dictionary of Publishing by Adrian Bullock, Chris Jennings, and Nicola TimbrellThis new dictionary covers the full range of publishing-related topics, defining terms encountered in the processes of editing, producing, printing, and distributing books and digital content. With entries ranging from proofreading and binding to discoverability and royalties, and covering contemporary areas of publishing such as digital workflow and digital rights management, the dictionary provides easy-to-find and accurate information on key terms and concepts. It is an invaluable reference resource for students of publishing, as well as for those currently working in the industry.
Publication Date: 2019
A Dictionary of Social Media by Daniel Chandler and Rod MundayThis fascinating dictionary covers the whole realm of social media, providing accessible, authoritative, and concise entries centred primarily on websites and applications that enable users to create and share content, or to participate in social networking. From the authors of the popular Dictionary of Media and Communication, Daniel Chandler and Rod Munday, comes a title that complements and supplements their previous dictionary, and that will be of great use to social media marketing specialists, bloggers, and to any general internet user.