Dictionary Plus Medicine and Health
Previously named A Dictionary of Computing, this bestselling dictionary has been renamed A Dictionary of Computer Science, and fully revised by a team of computer specialists, making it the most up-to-date and authoritative guide to computing available. Containing over 6,500 entries and withexpanded coverage of multimedia, computer applications, networking, and personal computer science, it is a comprehensive reference work encompassing all aspects of the subject and is as valuable for home and office users as it is indispensable for students of computer science. Terms are defined in a jargon-free and concise manner with helpful examples where relevant. The dictionary contains approximately 150 new entries including cloud computing, cross-site scripting, iPad, semantic attack, smartphone, and virtual learning environment. Recommended web links for manyentries, accessible via the Dictionary of Computer Science companion website, provide valuable further information and the appendices include useful resources such as generic domain names, file extensions, and the Greek alphabet. This dictionary is suitable for anyone who uses computers, and is ideal for students of computer science and the related fields of IT, maths, physics, media communications, electronic engineering, and natural sciences.
ISBN: 9780191826757
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
A Dictionary of Sports Studies by
This is the brand new Dictionary of Sports Studies. It contains over 1,100 clear, concise, and authoritative entries compiled by Professor Alan Tomlinson, a leading expert in the field. Wide-ranging coverage includes the social, political, economical, and cultural theory of sport, as well asentries relating to exercise, preparation, and performance psychology, and key scientific terms, including nutrition and anatomy. It also features biographies of key sportspeople, information on international organizations and institutions, and detailed appendices with lists of sporting events andwinners, including the Summer and Winter Olympic Games. In addition, there are recommended web links for many entries, which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Sports Studies companion website. Addressing the need for an A-Z reference guide in the field of sports studies, this dictionary is essential reading for students of sports studies and the related disciplines of leisure and recreation studies, sports science, and physical education. It is also ideal for the general reader with aninterest in sport.
ISBN: 9780199213818Publication Date: 2010-04-05
