Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Law by
This best-selling dictionary is an authoritative and comprehensive source of jargon-free legal information. It contains over 4,700 entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system. Entries have been fully updated for this edition to incorporate the latest legislation, including entries on foreign national offenders, Police and Crime Commissioners, corporate manslaughter, and settlement agreements, and there is a useful Writing and Citation Guide that specifically addressesproblems and established conventions for writing legal essays and reports. Now providing more information than ever before, this edition features recommended web links for many entries, which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Law companion website.Described by leading university lecturers as "the best law dictionary" and "excellent for non-law students as well as law undergraduates", this classic dictionary is an invaluable source of legal reference for professionals, students, and anyone else needing succinct clarification of legal terms.Focusing primarily on English law, it also provides a one-stop source of information for any of the many countries that base their legal system on English law.
ISBN: 9780191744402Publication Date: 2015
Companion Books
The New Oxford Companion to Law by
For any reader needing a concise yet expert explanation of a subject in law the New Oxford Companion to Law is the ideal reference work. Providing greater depth than can be found in legal dictionaries but always accessible to the non-specialist, entries in the Companion cover all areas of lawand legal systems and are extensively cross-referenced for ease of navigation. The Companion draws upon the expertise of over 700 scholars and practitioners, offering the widest possible range of perspectives on legal topics. Consisting in over 1700 alphabetically-arranged entries, the Companion features:DT The fundamentals of all the major areas of law such as criminal law, tax and social security law, human rights law, family and employment law, education law, sports law, international and EU lawDT The role and workings of legal institutions such as parliaments, courts, law schools, and international bodies such as the EU and the UNDT Leading cases, famous trials and distinguished lawyers, past and presentDT Major events in legal history and major debates in legal theoryDT Twenty pages of rich illustrations, bringing the content to lifeThe Companion will appeal to the interested citizen, students applying for law courses at university, law students, and also to advanced readers who are already familiar with the law who will enjoy reading the engagingly written accounts of areas that they know as well as many that theydon't.
ISBN: 9780191727269Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedias
- K-12 Education Law in America byPublication Date: 42nd EditionCovers topics such as Protected Speech, Student Search and Seizure, Students with Disabilities, Employment Practices, Technology and Surveillance, Threats and Bullying, and Freedom of Speech.