How to Use Databases

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

Topics covered include ethnic studies, women's studies, history, applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology. Includes full text of articles from over 3,100 publications (many of them peer-reviewed), dating back to 1994. Indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,100 publications. Retrospective coverage on some subjects goes back to 1982.

A comprehensive, general-interest database, General OneFile includes more than 8,000 full-text titles; over 3,600 journals; more than 25 years of backfile; and five newspaper indexes totaling more than 13,000 titles in all (70% of which are unique to the resource). Contains over 100 million records of full-text periodicals. Results include multimedia images, video, and podcasts .

Current events and social issues from multiple perspectives help students find, analyze, and organize data to for debates, presentations and writing assignments. Content includes images, video, and audio as well as text and data. Updated daily.

Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis-including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790-with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. You can use it to search for popular books, music CDs and videos: all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many new kinds of digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks. You may find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby. Whether or not you can check something out depends on whether you have an active membership with a library that owns the item, and whether that library's Web site permits remote checkout of an item. WorldCat.org lets you find an item of interest and then locate a library near you that owns it. Usually you will link directly to the item record on the library's Web site. The actions available to you on that page will vary from one library to another. You may be able to join a waiting list, reserve the item, check it out or even have it shipped or delivered.