General Collections
- MERLOT: AstronomySearches 90,000+ records with the option to search other OER collections and the web
- Mason OER MetafinderSearches across notable OER collections including MERLOT, OASIS, and OER Commons
- OASIS: AstronomySearches 380,000+ records from 90+ reputable OER sites
- OER Commons: AstronomySearches 50,000+ records of curated, high-quality OERs
- astroEDUPeer-reviewed astronomy education activities
- AAPT ComPADRE Digital LibraryResource collections for physics and astronomy education
- National Science Digital Library: Space ScienceEducational resources for teaching and learning in the STEM field
- Teach AstronomyAstronomy learning tool for classroom instruction or open education
Textbooks
- OpenStax Textbooks: ScienceTextbooks and additional resources on introductory courses
Books and Journals
- arXiv.orgE-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, and more
- E-Books Directory: AstronomyBooks, documents, and lecture notes
- Ebooks: Central Florida Astronomical SocietyList of astronomy ebooks available online
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)Directory of high quality, peer-reviewed journals
Courses and Related Materials
- Khan Academy: Cosmology and AstronomyPractice exercises, instructional videos, and reference materials
- OdigiaCourseware with tools that drives engagement and collaboration
Images, Videos, and Audio
- Creative Commons SearchImages under creative commons licenses from museums and other sites (Wikimedia Commons, Flickr)
- Astronomy Image ExplorerDatabases of astronomy figures and images
- Google ImagesSearch for images licensed for reuse by clicking Tools under the search box then Usage Rights
- YouTubeSearch for videos under Creative Commons licenses by clicking Filter then Creative Commons (under Features)
- TED Talks: AstronomyTED Talks from experts on various topics
- Videolectures.NET: AstronomyRepository of educational video lectures
- Listen NotesSearch the whole Internet's podcasts; Podcasts are free to students but usually not under CC licenses
Primary Sources
- Internet ArchiveSoftware applications, recordings, videos, books, and more
Open Educational Resources guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Can't Find What You Need?
If you are having trouble finding resources, complete our Request to Locate Open and Affordable Educational Resources Form. We will be in contact with a list of resources that we could locate based on your needs. While new OERs are being created everyday, there is no guarantee that we will be able to find all the resources you need for your course(s) as they may not exist yet.
Evaluating OERs
This guide includes collections of OERs and other freely available online educational resources. Quality, accessibility, and copyright of the materials may vary. Review our Open Educational Resources guide for more information on evaluating OERs.
Contact
For questions regarding Open Educational Resources, please email oer@etsu.edu