Astronomy Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Astronomy by
The revised second edition of this established dictionary contains over 4,300 up-to-date entries covering all aspects of astronomy. Compiled with the help of over 20 expert contributors under the editorship of renowned author and broadcaster Ian Ridpath, A Dictionary of Astronomy coverseverything from space exploration and the equipment involved, to astrophysics, cosmology, and the concept of time. The dictionary also includes biographical entries on eminent astronomers, as well as worldwide coverage of observatories and telescopes. Supplementary material is included in theappendices, such as tables of Apollo lunar landing missions and the constellations, a table of planetary data, and numerous other tables and diagrams complement the entries.The entries have been fully revised and updated for this edition, and new entries have been added to reflect the recent developments within the field of astronomy, including magnetic reconnection, Fornax cluster, luminosity density, and Akatsuki. The content is enhanced by entry-level web links,which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website.A Dictionary of Astronomy is an invaluable reference source for students, professionals, amateur astronomers, and space enthusiasts.
ISBN: 9780191739439Publication Date: 2012-02-20
Dictionary of Scientists by
From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biography dictionary of scientists currently available. Compact yet comprehensive, it will be invaluable reference for scientists, students, and anyone with a generalinterest in science. Over 1,300 entries, spanning over 2,500 years International range covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology Clear explanations of the science itself and its historical significance. Includes all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine Comprehensive index of topics, and extensive network of cross-references to related entries
ISBN: 9780191726835Publication Date: 2016
A Dictionary of Space Exploration by
This fascinating dictionary covers the exciting world of space exploration and every aspect of the technology involved. Containing over 2,500 entries it defines the jargon used in space exploration including such weird and wonderful terms as 'cherry picker' and 'burp firing'. All the entriesare fully cross-referenced for ease of use, and important entries, such as the entry on the Apollo project, are presented as detailed feature articles. In addition to the main entries and definitions, the book also contains links to over 250 space-related websites, and a comprehensive chronology ofspace exploration. The entries are supported by over 50 photographs, illustrations and diagrams. Written by a team of experts, the entries have been edited by Dr E. Julius Dasch, former manager of the NASA National Space Grant Program.This authoritative, comprehensive and readable dictionary is essential reading for anyone with an interest in astronomy and space travel.
ISBN: 9780191728013Publication Date: 2016
A Dictionary of Physics by
This is the most popular dictionary of physics available, and contains almost 4,000 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts. It also defines many terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. With over 200 new entries and fullrevision of the existing text, A Dictionary of Physics is as essential a reference tool as before. The dictionary is generously illustrated with over 120 diagrams, graphs, and tables and it also contains biographies of important scientists. Recommended web links are also included to provide useful and relevant extra information, and are accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Physicscompanion web page. Appendices include SI units, the solar system, and the electromagnetic spectrum, plus a list of Nobel Prize winners and a chronology of key dates in physics.This fully revised and updated A-Z is an ideal introduction to the subject for anyone with an interest in physics, and it remains an indispensable reference work for students of physics and physics-related subjects (either at school or at university), and professionals.
ISBN: 9780191783036Publication Date: 2016
Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors by
This dictionary provides scientists, science writers, and all who work in scientific publishing with a clear style guide for the presentation of scientific information. In over 9,700 entries, it reflects widely accepted usage and follows the recommendations of international scientific bodiessuch as IUPAC and IUPAP. The dictionary gives clear guidance on such matters as spellings (American English and British English), punctuation, abbreviations, prefixes and suffixes, units and quantities, and symbols.Revised and fully updated, this new edition of the Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors includes feature entries on key areas, substantially increased coverage of the life sciences, and new entries in physics, astronomy, chemistry, computer science, and mathematics. New and revisedappendices also provide useful supplementary tables including SI units, mathematical symbols, the electromagnetic spectrum, and useful online resources.This comprehensive and authoritative A-Z guide is an invaluable tool for students, professionals, and publishers working with writing in the fields of physics, chemistry, botany, zoology, biochemistry, genetics, immunology, microbiology, astronomy, mathematics, and computer science.
ISBN: 9780191727276Publication Date: 2009-06-22
Astronomy Companions
The Oxford Companion to Cosmology by
The Oxford Companion to Cosmology is a comprehensive but accessible encyclopedic overview of this enduringly popular subject. With over 350 in-depth entries - ranging from cosmic inflation and dark energy to Higgs boson and neutrinos - it both illuminates the ideas behind the currentunderstanding of the universe and outlines the fundamental physics from which those ideas emerge. Subjects covered include the structure of the universe - its rate of expansion and the particles out of which it is composed - the evolution of galaxies, galaxy clusters, and cold dark matter. Itencompasses both theoretical ideas such as alternative cosmologies and the various types of observational evidence, including redshift surveys and cosmic microwave background radiation. It appears at a time when there is a growing consensus about the origins and development of the universe, centredaround the hot Big Bang and the emerging Standard Cosmological Model, and an introductory overview brings the reader up to date on current thinking. Written by established experts in theoretical and observational cosmology, the Companion is an invaluable reference resource for students, teachers, science writers, and anyone with a serious interest in cosmology. Extensive cross-referencing allows the reader to unravel the ideas behind theterminology, and over 170 illustrations bring the subject to life. An index offers an alternative way of exploring the topics covered, and entry-level web links direct the reader to recommended online resources.
ISBN: 9780191727375Publication Date: 2008
