Skip to Main Content
Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Media and Communication (2 ed.) by Daniel Chandler and Rod Munday
Over 3,400 entries
The most accessible and up-to-date dictionary of its kind, this wide-ranging A–Z covers both interpersonal and mass communication, in all their myriad forms, encompassing advertising, digital culture, journalism, new media, telecommunications, and visual culture, among many other topics.
This new edition includes over 200 new complete entries and revises hundreds of others, as well as including hundreds of new cross-references. The biographical appendix has also been fully cross-referenced to the rest of the text. This dictionary is an indispensable guide for undergraduate st ... More
ISBN: 9780191800986
Publication Date: 2016
A Dictionary of Social Media by Daniel Chandler and Rod Munday
This fascinating dictionary covers the whole realm of social media, providing accessible, authoritative, and concise entries centred primarily on websites and applications that enable users to create and share content, or to participate in social networking. From the authors of the popular Dictionary of Media and Communication, Daniel Chandler and Rod Munday, comes a title that complements and supplements their previous dictionary, and that will be of great use to social media marketing specialists, bloggers, and to any general internet user.
ISBN: 9780191803093
Publication Date: 2016
Dictionary Plus Media Studies
This dictionary comprises authoritative, highly accessible entries on people and organizations related to all aspects of media studies. These entries are supplementary to other media studies titles in the Quick Reference collection, and are written by specialist authors. The dictionary is an ongoing project, and more entries will be added over time.
ISBN: 9780191826740
Publication Date: 2016
A Dictionary of Journalism by Tony Harcup
A Dictionary of Journalism is an accessible and authoritative quick reference dictionary. It covers over 1,400 wide-ranging entries on the terms that are likely to be encountered by students of the subject, and aims to offer a broad, accessible point of reference on an ever-topical andconstantly-changing field that affects everyone's knowledge and perception of the world. Assuming little or no prior knowledge of the subject, it covers terminology relating to the practice, business, and technology of journalism, as well as its concepts and theories, organizations and institutions, publications, and key events. Related topic areas are covered where they impact on oroffer explanations of journalism: for example in law, where legislation affects journalistic activity; and where sociological studies seek to aid the understanding of journalism. Appendices include a timeline of journalistic developments, contextualising the ever-evolving nature of journalism, aswell as an index of significant individuals in the field. It is an essential companion to all students taking courses in Journalism and Journalism Studies, as well as related subjects such as Communications Studies, Media Studies, and Television and Radio Production.
ISBN: 9780191744365
Publication Date: 2016
