Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Geography by
Containing over 3,100 entries on all aspects of both human and physical geography, this best-selling dictionary is the most authoritative single-volume reference work of its kind. It includes coverage of cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, anddevelopment. Worked examples and diagrams are provided for many entries, including 15 new illustrations.All existing entries have been fully revised and updated for this new edition, and there is now expanded coverage of Geographical Information Systems (GIS), and glacial geomorphology, as well as the inclusion of more international examples within definitions, broadening its coverage considerably.The dictionary includes more than 400 new entries, including economies of scope, marginalization, rurality, and tax havens and offshore financial centres. Recommended web links are suggested for many entries, accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Geography companion website.Packed with clear, concise, and authoritative information, this A-Z reference is an essential companion for all students and teachers of geography.
ISBN: 9780199680856Publication Date: 2015-05-12
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by
This leading dictionary - now in its fourth edition - offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics in over 7,500 clear and accessible entries. Coverage includes geology, planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy, and volcanology, aswell as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology.This new edition has been fully updated and 150 new entries added, with expanded coverage of geology and planetary geology terms. Over 130 line drawings accompany the definitions.The Dictionary also provides recommended web links which are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website. Appendices include a revised geological time scale, an updated bibliography, stratigraphic units, lunar and Martian time scales, wind-strength scales, and SI units. Thisdictionary is essential for students of geography, geology, and earth sciences, and for those in in related disciplines.
ISBN: 9780199653065Publication Date: 2013-08-01
A Dictionary of Weather by
An authoritative and wide-ranging new edition of A Dictionary of Weather containing almost 2,000 entries on all areas of the subject. Provides clear definitions and illustrative examples of terminology taken from meteorology, forecasting, and climatology. Revised and fully updated, thisedition includes 300 new and revised entries, such as A-Train, Pineapple Express, and Watermelon snow, and added feature entries highlighting actual occurrences of extreme weather, including the Indian Ocean Tsunami and Hurricane Katrina. Generously illustrated, and containting recommended websitesfor further reading, this reference work is thoroughly comprehensible.Find out where and when the world's largest hailstone fell or where the highest temperature was recorded using the list of weather records, and check climate data for different weather types from around the world. Key terms from the related fields of oceanography, hydrology, and climatology are alsocovered as well as biographical information on important people in the development of meteorology. Arranged in A-Z format, it is a unique dictionary and an essential reference source for meteorology and geography students, whether at school or university, as well as for amateur meteorologists andthe general reader.
ISBN: 9780199541447Publication Date: 2008-10-11
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation (3 ed.) by
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment—its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories. Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, this is the ideal reference for students of environment and conservation, as well as for professionals in the field.
ISBN: 9780191826320Publication Date: 2017
Companion Books
The Oxford Companion to the Earth by
How old is the Earth? Is it really likely to be hit by a meteorite? What can Antarctic ice cores and Milankovitch cycles tell us about global warming? What is a Milankovitch cycle anyway? Where would you find black smokers? Are they ever likely to be useful? What causes tornadoes? Should youworry if you live near a transform plate boundary? What is the difference between a tidal wave and a tsunami? Does it matter? Can rocks affect your health? Answers to these and many similar questions will be found in the Oxford Companion to the Earth. The aim of the Companion is to provide conciseand readable accounts of the main phenomena and processes relating to the Earth. Like the other Oxford Companions, it is aimed at a wide readership, and will appeal both to professional Earth scientists seeking an accessible digest of topics outside their own areas of specialization, as well as tothe general reader wishing an approachable reference to our planet and the environment. For all these readers, and many more, the Companion will not only provide a valuable source of reference but also fascinating and informative browsing. The scope of the Companion is wide: it is concerned withthe entire planetary environment on which all living things (ourselves included) depend: the atmosphere and the oceans as well as the solid Earth. And since we can no longer consider the Earth in isolation, information about other parts of the Solar System also finds a place here. Included in theCompanion: Over 900 entries, from acid rain to zoogeomorphology, and over 200 expert contributors Complete coverage of the Earth sciences, including geology, geophysics, geochemistry, geodesy, geomorphology, soil science, glaciology, oceanography, climatology, meteorology, enviromental and resourcedevelopment, volcanology, and the history of the Earth sciences Over 800 pages with 600 illustrations and 16 pages of full colour plates Useful appendices, including detailed index, geological timescale, facts and figures about the Earth and its near neighbours, table of chemical elements. TheCompanion is a unique and important reference source which will be invaluable to anyone with an interest in the Earth, its history, formation, and environment.
ISBN: 9780198540397Publication Date: 2001-06-07
