Music

The Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. The collection included recordings from labels such as Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Vox and many others. Coverage includes music from the earliest times (e.g., Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. Multiple recordings of most major works are provided for comparative listening.

The collection includes works from medieval times to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher. Scores may be printed for individual use only (study, notation, etc.). Performance is not permitted from the the printed version of the PDF.

Streaming audio of over 56,000 albums of American roots music and pre-20th century American popular music. Designed as an audio history of America’s past, songs are indexed by major events such as the Civil War, Great Depression, disasters, World Wars, Prohibition and protests. Notable recording artists are B.B. King, Isaac Hayes, Gladys Knight, Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Otis Clay, Eddy "The Chief" Clearwater, Nanci Griffith, The Lilly Brothers, and Merle Travis. Genres include blues, gospel, shape note singing, soul, folk, country, folk, bluegrass, etc.

Important genres covered are reggae, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, plus traditional musics, such as Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel and gagaku. Liner notes to the original recordings are available.

Covers all major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, post-bop, big band and modern jazz, with major and secondary artists, ensembles and labels represented. Examples of major artists include Billie Holiday, Clark Terry, Stan Getz, John Coltrane, Diana Krall, Abbey Lincoln, and Anthony Braxton.

Streaming audio of over 739,500 albums, with a wide sampling of popular music from around the world. Performers represent a broad range of genres such as house, hip-hop, ambient, metal, punk, Riot Grrls, new age, R&B, reggae, rap in multiple languages, etc. Includes artists such as: Gloria Gaynor, Lou Reed, Iggy Pop, Kool & The Gang, Edith Piaf, Rod Stewart, The Sex Pistols, A Flock of Seagulls, Liberace.

Smithsonian Global Sound is a database offering streaming music over the internet on demand. It is produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, and includes the published recordings owned by that label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. The collection ranges from blues to children’s songs, American folk to spoken word and sounds, and is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Playlists can be created by any user of the database. Liner notes and cover art are included.

Oxford Music Online offers users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. Contains the Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and the Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users.