General Collections
- Mason OER MetafinderSearches across notable OER collections including MERLOT, OASIS, and OER Commons
- MERLOT: MusicSearches 90,000+ records with the option to search other OER collections and the web
- OASIS: MusicSearches 380,000+ records from 90+ reputable OER sites
- OER Commons: Film and Music ProductionSearches 50,000+ records of curated, high-quality OERs
- MusOPENFree resources and educational materials: recordings, sheet music, and textbooks
Textbooks
- GALILEO: Fine Arts TextbooksTextbooks from the University System of Georgia
- Open Music TheoryInteractive, online textbook for college-level music theory courses
- OpenStax: MusicTextbooks and additional resources on introductory courses
- Open Textbook Library: ArtsTextbooks used at higher education institutions
- Teaching Commons: Arts & HumanitiesTextbooks, course sites, syllabi, course materials, lectures and more
Books and Journals
- E-Books Directory: MusicBooks, documents, and lecture notes
- University of California Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004: MusicBooks from academic presses
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)Directory of academic, peer-reviewed books
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)Directory of high quality, peer-reviewed journals
Courses and Related Materials
- Dave ConservatoireOnline music school
- Khan Academy: MusicPractice exercises, instructional videos, and reference materials
- MIT OpenCourseWare: MusicCourse content from MIT
- OdigiaCourseware with tools that drives engagement and collaboration
Images, Videos, and Audio
- Creative Commons SearchImages under creative commons licenses from museums and other sites (Wikimedia Commons, Flickr)
- Google ImagesSearch for images licensed for reuse by clicking Tools under the search box then Usage Rights
- YouTubeSearch for videos under Creative Commons licenses by clicking Filter then Creative Commons (under Features)
- TED Talks: MusicTED Talks from experts on various topics
- Listen NotesSearch the whole Internet's podcasts; Podcasts are free to students but usually not under CC licenses
Primary Sources
- British Museum SoundsSounds of world culture
- Contemporary Music Score CollectionOver 6,000 contemporary music compositions
- Digital Public Library of AmericaDiverse types of materials from America’s cultural heritage institutions
- Europeana CollectionsArtworks, artifacts, books, videos, and sounds from across Europe
- Free Music ArchiveAn interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU
- IMSLPA database of music in the public domain.
- Internet ArchiveSoftware applications, recordings, videos, books, and more
- LibriVoxAudiobooks in the public domain
- Mutopia Project2098 pieces of music to download, perform, and distribute
- National JukeboxHistorical sound records from the Library of Congress
- Project GutenbergBooks (specifically literature) for which the copyright has expired
- RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales1,010,000 records of historic music materials
- Sheet Music ConsortiumTools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections.
Open Educational Resources guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Can't Find What You Need?
If you are having trouble finding resources, complete our Request to Locate Open and Affordable Educational Resources Form. We will be in contact with a list of resources that we could locate based on your needs. While new OERs are being created everyday, there is no guarantee that we will be able to find all the resources you need for your course(s) as they may not exist yet.
Evaluating OERs
This guide includes collections of OERs and other freely available online educational resources. Quality, accessibility, and copyright of the materials may vary. Review our Open Educational Resources guide for more information on evaluating OERs.
Contact
For questions regarding Open Educational Resources, please email oer@etsu.edu