Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Nursing (8th Edition) by
The new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on radiography, public health and the NHS, theoretical concepts familiar in nursing education, and key vocabulary used in the 2018 Nursing & Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards of Proficiency for Registered Nurses. Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering the calculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and much more, help to make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.
ISBN: 9780198864646Publication Date: 2021-07-20
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
This 2016 version includes over 107,000 terms and definitions. Added to this version are 139 new cardio terms and 240 new oncology terms. Over 45 consultants from all the major medical and health science specialties have reviewed each word for accuracy and clarity, including new consultants for the specialties of endocrinology, gastroenterology, geriatrics, rheumatology, cardiology, and oncology.
ISBN: 9780781733908Publication Date: 2016
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by
In hand, online or mobile...the all-in-one, go-to source for classroom, clinic, and beyond. See what students have to say... Amazing "Anything and everything you want to know about medical information is in this book." - Amazon Reviewer Five Stars "What every medical student, student nurse, paramedic student, and medical professional should have" - Amazon Reviewer Great resource for nursing students! "The Bible for Nurses creating care plans! Has everything you will need; disease definition, symptoms, NANDA's, interventions. A must-have for students!" --Dora Duran Taber's brings meanings to life. Put the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 23 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects the most current healthcare information. FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine--puts all of the knowledge of Taber's at your fingertips. Videos and animations--demonstrate common procedures, a brief physical assessment, and physiological processes Over 33,000 audio pronunciations--build speaking confidence. Go beyond the book... An access code inside new printed texts unlocks a wealth of DavisPlus Student Premium resources that make learning and studying easier, while another code unlocks the free, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online.
ISBN: 9780803659049Publication Date: 2017-01-31
Clinical Reference
AHFS Drug Information 2022 by
AHFS Drug Information® 2022 contains the most dependable drug information available-all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses. With expanded and revised content supported by more than 97,000 references and incorporating the advice of numerous subject matter experts, AHFS DI helps you protect your patients and your practice. Updates in the new edition: The latest information on COVID-19 vaccines and COVID-19 monoclonal antibodies available under FDA Emergency Use Authorizations (EUAs), including clinical considerations from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and National Institutes of Health (NIH). Information on patient selection and appropriate use of corticosteroids in the management of COVID-19 based on recent guidelines from NIH and the World Health Organization (WHO). Contemporary issues such as anticoagulant reversal strategies and use of direct oral anticoagulants versus warfarin for treatment of venous thromboembolism or atrial fibrillation. Current best practices such as reversal of neuromuscular blocking agents for prevention of postoperative residual neuromuscular blockade. Newly published information on breakthrough oncology drugs approved as part of the FDA's accelerated approval program. Expanded content on off-label uses, real-world data, and long-term clinical data. Updated information on pharmacogenomic considerations based on recommendations from the Clinical Pharmacogenetics Implementation Consortium (CPIC). Addition of 51 new molecular entities (NMEs) or new therapeutic biological products approved since January 2021.
ISBN: 1585286842Publication Date: 2022-02-01
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
#1 DRUG BOOK for Nursing Students! "This is the perfect drug book for nursing school! All the information on the meds is in-depth and all that you need to know."--Abby W. SAFETY FIRST! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Seventeenth Edition delivers all the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. FREE DIGITAL ACCESS Redeem the access code to unlock your one-year, free subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have access to more than 1,700 monographs from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser. Search the complete 5,000-drug database and appendices quickly and efficiently. Build your knowledge with extensively cross-referenced drugs. Keep up to date with FDA drug news. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE ... AT A GLANCE New! The AGS Beers Criteria for Potentially Inappropriate Medication Use in Older Adults #1 Drug Guide for patient safety Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Special considerations for patient populations. Geri heading identifies special concerns for older adults. OB and Lact headings highlight information for pregnant and breastfeeding patients. Pedi heading identifies concerns for children. Rep heading identifies considerations for patients of reproductive age. IV Administration subheads Pharmacogenomic content Canadian-specific content In-depth guidance for patient and family teaching FREE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Online at FADavis.com Audio Library of 1,200+ drug names help you pronounce important terms Two tutorials, each with a self-test Preventing Medication Errors Psychotropic Drugs Easy-to-Use Calculators Body mass index (BMI) Metric conversions IV drip rates Dosage/KG Fahrenheit/Celsius Interactive Case Studies - brief, real-life scenarios that are followed by a series of questions Audio podcasts delivering information on... Risk Evaluation Mitigation Systems (REMS) How to use Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses® Detecting and managing ADRs Evidence-based practice and Pharmacotherapeutics Pharmacogenomics Medication errors Special dosing considerations Educating patients about Safe Medication Use Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications ONLINE REVIEWS OF THE 16TH EDITION OF DAVIS'S DRUG GUIDE FOR NURSES Five Stars. "I LOVE that this includes nursing interventions, patient teaching and an online access code. Highly recommend."--E.G. Accurate and up to date. "Top notch for nursing students! Includes many things other drug guides l
ISBN: 9781719640053Publication Date: 2020-05-21
Essential Evidence Plus™ & AHFS DI® Essentials by
Essential Evidence Plus is a powerful, comprehensive clinical decision support system that integrates information on 9,000 diagnoses into healthcare professionals' clinical workflows. This clinical tool, created by an international team of renowned medical experts, was developed for physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals on the front line of patient care.
EE+ features over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, tools, images, and summaries covering the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians come in contact with every day. Every recommendation carries a strength-of-evidence rating that accurately grades each recommendation's merit on the basis of all of the evidence available in the relevant literature.
In addition, EE+ links extensively to abstracts of Cochrane Systematic Reviews.
Publication Date: 2022
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice by
A classic nursing reference, the fully updated Lippincott Manual for Nursing Practice, 11th Edition , offers expert nursing knowledge and much-needed practical guidance on patient care. Authoritative yet easy to follow, this comprehensive text guides you through the nursing concepts and skills particularly vital for medical-surgical assessment, care, and treatment. Essential for both in-the-classroom and on-the-unit guidance, this is the expertise that all students, new nurses, and medical-surgical nurses need to grasp essential nursing concepts, care management, and procedures. Discover the insights and data that every nurse needs: NEW and updated features - Nursing, Gerontologic, Drug, and Transitional Care Alerts, evidence-based references, diagnostic methods, and drug treatment throughout the book Easy-to-read, well-illustrated outline format - practical, pertinent, and comprehensive content for the busy nurse, including: Patient education - essential self-care, prevention, and health promotion information Nursing assessments - important signs and symptoms and other clinical data to be on the alert for in all types of conditions Body system terminology - how anatomy and physiology are affected by disease in each body system Equipment use - utilizing technology for patient monitoring and therapy Nursing process and practice - systematic use of the nursing process for assessment, planning, and intervention Emergency nursing - emergent conditions Psychiatric Nursing - mental health problems Medical-surgical nursing - adult physical assessment, IV therapy, perioperative nursing, cancer nursing, and care of the older or disabled adult Patient care by body system - functions, problems, disorders, and therapies described for the respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic and sensory, gastrointestinal, renal, genitourinary, reproductive, metabolic, endocrine, hematologic, immunologic, musculoskeletal, and integumentary systems Maternity and neonatal nursing - maternal and fetal health, nursing management during labor and delivery, care of mother and neonate in postpartum period, and complications of childbearing Pediatric nursing - pediatric growth and development, physical assessment, primary care, treatment of pediatric disorders of all body systems, and developmental disabilities eBook that includes step-by-step procedure guidelines - guidance on more than 150 procedures, with rationales and direction on what to do next and why Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks About the Author Sandra M. Nettina, MSN, ANP-BC, is a Nurse Practitioner and founder and president of Prime Care House Calls, West Friendship, Maryland.
ISBN: 9781496379948Publication Date: 2018-11-02
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by
This start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 8 th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
ISBN: 9781469815299Publication Date: 2018-11-21
Merck Manual Online Professional Version by
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.
ISBN: 0911910425Publication Date: 2022
