Skip to Main Content
Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Public Health by John M. Last (Editor)
An invaluable desk reference for busy public health practitioners,The Dictionary of Public Health is an alphabetical listing of almost 5,000 words and phrases used in public health science and practice. It offers definitions, discussion, and an occasional brief commentary on the relevance of each term to people and their health. This volume is a trusted resourcefor answers to questions that arise in the course of public health practice, whether in the office or in the field, in interactions with the public or with the media. The book contains cross-referenced definitions and discussions of related terms and concepts. For easy reference, users will find similarly worked definitions and discussions of important related concepts listed under each of the commonly used keywords. A variety of website links make it easy tofind further information at the users fingertips. Covering all aspects of public health, this book serves as both a quick and handy reference tool and a vehicle for more leisurely browsing.
ISBN: 9780199891313
Publication Date: 2007
A Dictionary of Epidemiology by Miquel Porta; Sander Greenland; Miguel Hernán; Isabel Dos Santos Silva; John M. Last; International Epidemiological Association Staff (Contribution by)
This sixth edition of A Dictionary of Epidemiology -- the most updated since its inception - reflects the profound substantive and methodological changes that have come to characterize epidemiology and its associated disciplines. Sponsored by the International Epidemiological Association, thisbook remains the essential reference for anyone studying or working in epidemiology, biostatistics, public health, medicine, or the growing number health sciences in which epidemiologic competency is now required. More than just a dictionary, this text is an essential guidebook to the state of the science. It offers the most current, authoritative definitions of terms central to biomedical and public health literature - everything from confounding and incidence rate to epigenetic inheritance and Number Neededto Treat. As epidemiology continues to change and grow, A Dictionary of Epidemiology will remain its book of record.
ISBN: 9780199390069
Publication Date: 2016
A Dictionary of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy by Matthew Molineux
This dictionary provides up-to-date definitions of the terms used in the related fields of occupational science and occupational therapy. Entries cover a broad range of topics from activities of daily living and autonomy to task-oriented approach and work–life balance and have a clear occupational focus. They provide an overview of the complex nature of human occupation and the impact of illness, injury, social exclusion, marginalization, or transition, for example, on occupation and well-being. Descriptions and analysis are backed up by key theories from related areas such as anthropology, sociology, and medicine.
ISBN: 9780191773624
Publication Date: 2017
