General Collections
- Mason OER MetafinderSearches across notable OER collections including MERLOT, OASIS, and OER Commons
- MERLOT: Criminal JusticeSearches 90,000+ records with the option to search other OER collections and the web
- OASIS: Criminal JusticeSearches 380,000+ records from 90+ reputable OER sites
- OER Commons: Criminal JusticeSearches 50,000+ records of curated, high-quality OERs
Books and Journals
- E-Books Directory: Crime and CriminalsBooks, documents, and lecture notes
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)Directory of high quality, peer-reviewed journals
Courses and Related Materials
- BNC OER+Courseware focused on holistic courses with easy customization
Images, Videos, and Audio
- Creative Commons SearchImages under creative commons licenses from museums and other sites (Wikimedia Commons, Flickr)
- Google ImagesSearch for images licensed for reuse by clicking Tools under the search box then Usage Rights
- YouTubeSearch for videos under Creative Commons licenses by clicking Filter then Creative Commons (under Features)
- TED Talks: CrimeTED Talks from experts on various topics
- C-SPAN Video Library: Criminal JusticeOne of the most comprehensive video archives of governmental and political content
- Listen NotesSearch the whole Internet's podcasts; Podcasts are free to students but usually not under CC licenses
- University of Oxford Podcasts: Center for Socio-Legal StudiesEducational podcasts from the University of Oxford
Primary Sources
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsInformation on crime, offenders., victims, and justice systems at all levels
- Data.govData from federal, state, local, and tribal U.S. government
- The Uniform Crime Reporting ProgramFour annual publications on Hate Crimes, Incident reporting, officer fatalities, etc.
- Google Dataset SearchSearch across thousands of data repositories across the Web
Open Educational Resources guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Can't Find What You Need?
If you are having trouble finding resources, complete our Request to Locate Open and Affordable Educational Resources Form. We will be in contact with a list of resources that we could locate based on your needs. While new OERs are being created everyday, there is no guarantee that we will be able to find all the resources you need for your course(s) as they may not exist yet.
Evaluating OERs
This guide includes collections of OERs and other freely available online educational resources. Quality, accessibility, and copyright of the materials may vary. Review our Open Educational Resources guide for more information on evaluating OERs.
Contact
For questions regarding Open Educational Resources, please email oer@etsu.edu