Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Law by
This best-selling dictionary is an authoritative and comprehensive source of jargon-free legal information. It contains over 4,700 entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system. Entries have been fully updated for this edition to incorporate the latest legislation, including entries on foreign national offenders, Police and Crime Commissioners, corporate manslaughter, and settlement agreements, and there is a useful Writing and Citation Guide that specifically addressesproblems and established conventions for writing legal essays and reports. Now providing more information than ever before, this edition features recommended web links for many entries, which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Law companion website.Described by leading university lecturers as "the best law dictionary" and "excellent for non-law students as well as law undergraduates", this classic dictionary is an invaluable source of legal reference for professionals, students, and anyone else needing succinct clarification of legal terms.Focusing primarily on English law, it also provides a one-stop source of information for any of the many countries that base their legal system on English law.
ISBN: 9780191744402Publication Date: 2015
A Dictionary of Law Enforcement (2 ed.) by
This UK-focused dictionary provides clear definitions of legal and specialist terminology encountered in law enforcement. From bail and buccal swab to self-defence and sham marriage, it is a wide-ranging dictionary covering terms from the areas of criminology, psychology, pathology, forensic medicine, and financial investigation. The dictionary incorporates some content from A Dictionary of Law, edited by Jonathan Law and Elizabeth Martin, entries which have been amended and expanded to be relevant to the law enforcement community. In addition to a general update of all entries, new entries have been added to cover relevant terminology that has emerged since 2007, especially new legislation and changes resulting from the change of government in 2010.
ISBN: 9780191758256Publication Date: 2015
Dictionary Plus Law
This dictionary comprises authoritative, highly accessible entries on legal processes, legal bodies, and on the organization of specific legal systems. These entries are supplementary to other law titles in the Quick Reference collection, and are written by specialist authors. The dictionary is an ongoing project, and more entries will be added over time.
ISBN: 9780191823503Publication Date: 2016
A Dictionary of Forensic Science by
Forensic scientists apply scientific analysis in a legal context and play a vital role in solving crimes. Sometimes the collection of forensic evidence is the only way to establish or exclude an association between suspect and victim or crime scene, or to establish a likely order of events.Profiting from recent scientific developments and the advancement of technological equipment, forensic science is a rapidly evolving discipline that encompasses many sciences and the law.This dictionary covers in over 1300 entries the key concepts within forensic science, including a wide array of relevant specialist terms from areas such as chemistry, biology, anthropology, art, engineering, firearms, toolmarks, trace evidence, crime scene investigation, case history, biographiesof investigators and criminals, as well as forensic computing. Ranging from crime scene to fibers and fluorescence to RAM, this new dictionary is the most up-to-date of its kind and is international in scope.Entry-level web links to online resources are listed and regularly updated on a companion website, expanding the scope of the dictionary and pointing to more in-depth supplementary material. Many entries are complemented by case examples (Dr Crippen, Mary Ann Cotton, etc.), figures, and photographs,which makes this A to Z an ideal reference for students of forensic science, as well as professionals and those with an interest in forensics.
ISBN: 9780199594009Publication Date: 2013
Companion Books
The New Oxford Companion to Law by
For any reader needing a concise yet expert explanation of a subject in law the New Oxford Companion to Law is the ideal reference work. Providing greater depth than can be found in legal dictionaries but always accessible to the non-specialist, entries in the Companion cover all areas of lawand legal systems and are extensively cross-referenced for ease of navigation. The Companion draws upon the expertise of over 700 scholars and practitioners, offering the widest possible range of perspectives on legal topics. Consisting in over 1700 alphabetically-arranged entries, the Companion features:DT The fundamentals of all the major areas of law such as criminal law, tax and social security law, human rights law, family and employment law, education law, sports law, international and EU lawDT The role and workings of legal institutions such as parliaments, courts, law schools, and international bodies such as the EU and the UNDT Leading cases, famous trials and distinguished lawyers, past and presentDT Major events in legal history and major debates in legal theoryDT Twenty pages of rich illustrations, bringing the content to lifeThe Companion will appeal to the interested citizen, students applying for law courses at university, law students, and also to advanced readers who are already familiar with the law who will enjoy reading the engagingly written accounts of areas that they know as well as many that theydon't.
ISBN: 9780191727269Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Companion to American Law by
This Companion offers a one-volume, alphabetically arranged, encyclopedia introducing the main lines of American law, from the institutions, people, events, and cases to the doctrines and concepts. Produced under the editorship of a board of five noted scholars, headed by Kermit L. Hall, itcomprises of approximately 500 entries, each written by an expert in the field.The book targets a broad and diverse audience, one that ranges from students studying comparative (including American) law to lawyers or judges actively involved in the practice of law. In subject matter the books deals with the development of positive, common, and constitutional law in the US (aswell as arbitration, mediation, and alternative dispute resolution), and the related institutions that support them. The Companion, stresses concepts more than cases and people as primary subjects, preferring, except for the most iconic cases and the most storied figures of American law, to discusseach within conceptual entries. Although many of the entries must of necessity address technical matters the Companion does not seek to provide a technical analysis of the law, either as a matter of history or current practice. The Companion also goes down some of the lesser known by-ways ofAmerican law, such as the role of civil, canon, and international law, avenues that the editor believes are essential for a full exploration of the subject.The Companion takes as its starting point the idea that law is embedded in society, and that to understand American law one must necessarily ask questions about the relationship between it and the social order, now and in the past. The volume assumes that American law, in all its richness andcomplexity, cannot be understood in isolation, as simply the business of the Supreme Court, or as a list of common law doctrines. Hence, the volume takes seriously issues involving law's role in structuring decisions about governance, the significance of state and local law and legal institutions,and the place of American law in a comparative international perspective. The hope is that such an approach, when coupled with the strong law-and-society emphasis, will make the volume genuinely distinctive, readily accessible to students and professionals, and provide for a meaningful contributionto the literature of American law in its own right.
ISBN: 9780199891108Publication Date: 2004
The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions by
The Supreme Court has been the site of some of the great debates of American history, from child labor and prayer in the schools, to busing and abortion. The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions offers lively and insightful accounts of the most important cases ever arguedbefore the Court, from Marbury v. Madison and Scott v. Sandford (the Dred Scott decision) to Brown v. Board of Education and Roe v. Wade. This new edition of the Guide contains more than 450 entries on major Supreme Court cases, including 53 new entries on the latest landmark rulings. Among the new entries are Bush v. Gore, Nixon v. United States, Gonzales v. Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and Rumsfeld v. Forum for Academicand Institutional Rights. Four decisionsHamdi v. Bush, Hamdan v. Rumsfeld, Rasu v. Bush, and Rumsfeld v. Padillaare considered in a single essay entitled Enemy Combatant Cases. Arranged alphabetically and written by eminent legal scholars, each entry provides the United States Reports citation, thedate the case was argued and decided, the vote of the Justices, who wrote the opinion for the Court, who concurred, and who dissented. More important, the entries feature an informative account of the particulars of the case, the legal and social background, the reasoning behind the Courts decision,and the cases impact on American society. For this edition, Ely has added an extensive Further Reading section and revised the Case Index and Topical Index. For anyone interested in the great controversies of our time, this invaluable book is a must reada primer on the epic constitutional battles that have informed American life.
ISBN: 9780199891511Publication Date: 2009-03-11
Encyclopedias
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History by
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is a comprehensive, international, interdisciplinary reference work that includes approximately 1,000 articles on all aspects of legal history throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Articles deal with private law, public law,and constitutional/higher law throughout the world and are written and signed by one of the many noteworthy contributors, which include major scholars and experts. For years, scholars have been investigating the remote origins of their respective national and religious law. Only recently has there been a developing interest in and study of the history of law in modern times. This encyclopedia will bring together the study of ancient law with the study ofmodern law-examining statutes and administrative rulings as well as judicial decisions, legislatures, agencies, and courts. The Encyclopedia will cover ancient, medieval, early modern, and modern law in eight legal traditions and geographical/cultural areas: Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, Medieval Roman Law, United States Law, and law in other regions (Africa, LatinAmerica, and South Asia among them). It will address major categories of law within these traditions, including private law (contract, tort, civil procedure), varieties of public law (criminal law, administrative law, statutory law), and higher law/ constitutional law. It will be the firstencyclopedia of law to provide historical and contemporary comparisons of world legal systems.
ISBN: 9780195336511Publication Date: 2009
