Research Methods in Fashion Studies
Fashion Studies by
The study of fashion has expanded into a thriving field of inquiry, with researchers utilizing diverse methods from across subject disciplines to explore fashion and dress in wide-ranging contexts. With an emphasis on material culture and ethnographic approaches in fashion studies, this groundbreaking volume offers fascinating insights into the complex dynamics of research and fashion.Featuring unique case studies, with interdisciplinary scholars reflecting on their practical research experiences, Fashion Studies provides rich and nuanced perspectives on the use, and mixing and matching of methodological approaches - including object and image based research, the integration of qualitative and quantitative methods and the fluid bridging of theory and practice. Engaging with diverse subjects, from ethnographies of model casting and street-style blogging, wardrobe studies and a material culture analysis of global denim wearing, to Martin Margiela's design and archival methods, Fashion Studies presents complex approaches in a lively and informative manner that will appeal to students of fashion, anthropology, sociology, cultural studies and related fields.
ISBN: 1472583175Publication Date: 2016-01-28
Print Fashion Encyclopedias
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History by
How people dressed throughout history often reflects how they lived at the time, and Clothing in World History gives the reader a chance to explore clothing in a given place and time while also providing a general history to help put the costumes in context. This set takes the reader on a journey from the beginning of time to present day to look at what people wore in Europe, North America, South America, and Asia. Men's, Women's, and Children's clothing from various social classes, as well as accessories, are be included.
ISBN: 9780313336621Publication Date: 2007-12-30
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by
Available in print at the library or in electronic format (under Berg Fashion Encyclopedias in this guide).
Publishing in summer 2010 in print and online, the 10-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion is the first comprehensive reference work to explore all aspects of dress and fashion globally - from pre-history to the present day. Arranged geographically and written by an internationalteam of experts, the Encyclopedia will serve as the go-to source for all issues relating the art and anthropology of costume, dress, and fashion the world over for students, scholars, members of the design and fashion industries, and fashion aficionados for years to come.The Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion brings together for the first time the work of over 600 renowned scholars from every part of the globe. All articles have been specially commissioned and particular effort has been made to commission articles by indigenous scholars with in-depth localknowledge.
ISBN: 9780195377330Publication Date: 2010-07-15
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by
From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture.
ISBN: 0684313944Publication Date: 2004-09-22
The Encyclopaedia of Fashion by Call Number: GT507 .O53 1986ISBN: 0810908824Publication Date: 1986-10-01
Electronic Fashion & Dress Encyclopedias
Ethnic Dress in the United States by
The clothes we wear tell stories about us--and are often imbued with cultural meanings specific to our ethnic heritage. This concise A-to-Z encyclopedia explores 150 different and distinct items of ethnic dress, their history, and their cultural significance within the United States. The clothing artifacts documented here have been or are now regularly worn by Americans as everyday clothing, fashion, ethnic or religious identifiers, or style statements. They embody the cultural history of the United States and its peoples, from Native Americans, white Anglo colonists, and forcibly relocated black slaves to the influx of immigrants from around the world. Entries consider how dress items may serve as symbolic linkages to home country and family or worn as visible forms of opposition to dominant cultural norms. Taken together, they offer insight into the ethnic-based core ideologies, myths, and cultural codes that have played a role in the formation and continued story of the United States.
ISBN: 0759121508Publication Date: 2014-10-30
The Complete Costume Dictionary by
While there are costume and fashion dictionaries tied to specific countries or periods, none have been comprehensive. In The Complete Costume Dictionary, Elizabeth Lewandowski has collected from a variety of sources--including costume history texts, journal articles, historical publications, autobiographies, biographies, foreign language dictionaries, and contemporary publications--to create a resource that spans the globe, from the earliest record of fashion to the 21st century. Including more than 20,000 fashion and costume terms, this volume also features more than 300 illustrations. The first section of the book is an alphabetical listing of these words with their definitions, period, and country of origin. This volume also contains appendixes that list the terms by country of origin, period, and type of clothing. The book is not limited to the Western World and includes both archaic and current terms. Significantly greater in scope than anything currently available--online or in print--this one-of-a-kind publication is an invaluable resource for costume and fashion historians, textile preservationists, period re-enactors, and history and theatre scholars, as well as theatre professionals.
ISBN: 9780810840041Publication Date: 2011-10-24
Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of British Isles, C. 450-1450 by
The single volume Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450 is a unique work that intends to bring together the latest research from across the range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of medieval dress and textiles. There has been a long-standing interest in the subject, which has recently manifested itself in a flowering of research and publications, including activities by the editors of the Encyclopaedia: the foundation of DISTAFF (Discussion, Interpretation and Study of Textile Arts, Fabrics and Fashion) as an umbrella organization for the presentation of papers at the major medieval congresses in Kalamazoo and Leeds (Netherton and Owen-Crocker); the establishment of the annual journal Medieval Clothing and Textiles (Netherton and Owen-Crocker); the Manchester Medieval Textiles Project (Coatsworth and Owen-Crocker); and the AHRC Lexis of Cloth and Clothing Project (Owen-Crocker and Sylvester). There is a clear need for an interdisciplinary reference work which will introduce readers to various sources of evidence, and give clear information about the most recent discoveries and interpretations and bibliographical guidance to readers. Free sample fascicle available.
ISBN: 9789004124356Publication Date: 2012-05-03
Electronic Marketing Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies by
Encyclopedia Of Major Marketing Strategies (formerly Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns) explores 100 major marketing strategies for some of the top global and emerging brands and social movements from 2015-2018. Entries profile major product/service, mobile app, social media, brand development, packaging, and other media strategies. Each essay provides a situation analysis, information on the target market, marketing strategy & tactics, and the outcome. Essays are aligned to the strategic marketing framework ensuring that the marketing strategies can easily be utilized in an academic environment as case studies, or illustrative examples often times described as "war stories" by professors.'
ISBN: 9781410389343Publication Date: 2019-03-08
A Dictionary of Marketing by
A Dictionary of Marketing is an accessible and wide-ranging A-Z, providing over 2,500 entries on topics spanning terms for traditional marketing techniques (from strategy, positioning, segmentation, and branding, to all aspects of marketing planning, research, and analysis), as well as leadingmarketing theories and concepts. Both classic and modern marketing techniques are covered. Entries reflect modern changes in marketing practice, including the use of digital and multi media, the impact of the World Wide Web on advertising, and the increased influence of social media and searchengines on advertising and the rise of global brand management.Also included is a time line of the development of marketing as a discipline and the key events that impacted the development, as well as over 100 relevant web links, accessed and updated via a companion website. In addition, the main appendix provides greater depth on the subject, includingadvertising and brand case studies with a strong international focus. These are arranged thematically, e.g. automobile industry, food and drink, luxury goods, and focus on iconic brands, marketing campaigns, and slogans of the 20th century that have permeated our collective consciousness, exploringhow the ideas defined in the main text of the book have been utilised successfully in practice across the globe. This dictionary is an indispensable resource for students of marketing and related disciplines, as well as a practical guide for professional practitioners and people with a generalinterest in marketing.
ISBN: 0198736428Publication Date: 2016-07-01
Dictionary of Advertising and Marketing Concepts by
From AdBusters to viral marketing, this brief dictionary of ideas and concepts contains over 100 extended, illuminating entries to bring the novice up to speed on the advertising/marketing world and the ideas that underlie it. For the neophyte professional, it describes the various players and strategies of the industry. For the student, it summarizes the key ideas of the most important cultural theorists introduced in advertising and marketing courses. For everyone, it helps explain the cultural, economic, and psychological role that advertising concepts play in society. A handy introduction for students and a quick reference for young professionals.
ISBN: 9781611329858Publication Date: 2013-08-31
