Skip to Main Content

Sherrod Library News

Sherrod Selections: Hispanic Heritage Month in the Juvenile Collection

by Sarah Bull on 2023-09-22T15:08:27-04:00 | 0 Comments

Check out our Juvenile Collection for a variety of picture books and youth fiction by and about Hispanic Americans.

The third floor of the Sherrod Library is a place where you can find a number of treasures. It is there that you can find government publications, legal books, rare maps, and the juvenile collection. As an institution founded for the practice of training teachers, that collection plays an important role in the Sherrod Library's mission to support the university. While the juvenile collection is open to anyone (including the children of faculty and staff!) as most of our collections are, its primary purpose is to supplement the K-12 teaching program here at ETSU with a diverse array of titles.

To celebrate this month we pulled books that honor and educate young readers on Hispanic heritage. Keep reading to see some of what's on display.

 Maximilian: The Mystery of the Guardian Angel
This bilingual book is written for the middle grade. Excellent for readers of both English and Spanish this story may interest even a reluctant young reader.

My Colors, My World
An easy reader geared towards children ages 5-8, this book may serve as a fantastic introduction to either the English or Spanish languages. 

Diego: Bigger Than Life
This poetic picture book is written in English and may be used as a nonfiction resource for young readers interested in the painter.

Some heftier youth titles. Visit us on the third floor of the library to see the entirety of our Hispanic Heritage Month display!

 

Like what you saw here? Thought we were missing something? Leave a comment below and let us know!


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...